|
Nick Grant
Original Poster
3,490 posts
104 months
|
I use a unique email address for Pistonheads that I've never given out or used via any other websites. Over the last couple of days I've had about 10 spam emails to this address, all like this...
Countries of interest: UK, Rep. of Ireland, Germany, Austria, Sweden
Our business is concerned with the promotion and development of web media projects and also partakes in business consisting of alternate power sourcing methods, renewables, and modern green technologies.
We are searching for people who are willing to work and be reliable in the countries listed previously.
Requirements:
- It is necessary that you either own a company or are willing to start one fairly soon and retain power of attorney of that company. - It is required that you are a registered person of one of the countries listed earlier. - It is also mandated that you are a degree holder from a recognized college. - English proficiency needs to be roughly ninety percent in order for smooth back and forth communication. - It is a definite plus on your behalf if you have a solid relationship with a financial institution from your community or abroad. - The amount of help we need will consist of about 3-4 hours per day initially, for the first two months, and approximately 2-3 hours a day after that. - The agreement between our working partnership will last one year, but may extend further to 2 years.
Your day to day activities will involve handling receivables from our selling.
Compensation is commission based, and is associated with the number of items we sell.
Our contacts: Kelsey@marketingcouk.com
Thank You!
|
|
|
MattDell
2,027 posts
24 months
PH Senior Techie
|
Thanks for reporting that. I'll ad this to our spam filter. 
|
|
|
strangerthings
1 posts
75 months
|
I think the point is how can they send us mails at all?
how do they know my email? Or is it the 'Allow other members to send email via the forum' option? Should be unticked by default that.
|
|
|
Carl Matthews
1 posts
123 months
|
...same here...except email addresses are;
Tasha@marketingcouk.com frowziestkn7@barronheating.com otb@graphicsmatter.co.uk Return-Path: <frowziestkn7@barronheating.com>
kdkehifefifemcc.glgmc.org/sendmail.php for 190.101.86.207
...hope this helps.
|
|
|
LordGrover
18,592 posts
81 months
|
^^ Top stalking.  As likely it's just random email address generation and they got a hit.
|
Advertisement
|
|
|
oobopshibam
1 posts
13 months
|
It isn't random phishing. My domain name is absolutely impossible to guess. It was checked as having maximum security, yet I have received the same email.
|
|
|
LordGrover
18,592 posts
81 months
|
 Impossible to guess? I'd love to know what that is. 
|
|
|
Switch
3,065 posts
44 months
PH Techie Junior
|
Were these emails sent directly to yourself and not forwarded to you by our automated systems (Like PM's and Advert Enquiries are)?
Any forwarded email would have a header pointing out that it was sent forwarded to you by ourselves.
|
|
|
Pints
14,677 posts
63 months
|
|
|
cal216610
7,548 posts
39 months
|
Pints said: Is that the all time winner?
|
|
|
V8mate
34,915 posts
58 months
|
cal216610 said: Pints said: Is that the all time winner? Has to be. And makes me feel so much better about being such a miserable sod that he broke his duck just to have a moan 
|
|
|
laraplatman
6 posts
43 months
|
I have had the same email. it arrives from ME but from about 10 different people at marketingcouk.com i dontr know how to do anything other than set up a rule in OUTLOOK and catch the subject matter each time and set up a rule to permenantly delete it.
Lara my email is hidden on MOST places.
|
|
|
Switch
3,065 posts
44 months
PH Techie Junior
|
Nick Grant said: OP Chap if you get a chance to reply, have you ever replied to the PM's that have been sent to you via other PH'ers from your registered email address?
|
|
|
Nick Grant
Original Poster
3,490 posts
104 months
|
Switch said: Were these emails sent directly to yourself and not forwarded to you by our automated systems (Like PM's and Advert Enquiries are)?
Any forwarded email would have a header pointing out that it was sent forwarded to you by ourselves. They do not appear to have been forwarded.
|
|
|
Nick Grant
Original Poster
3,490 posts
104 months
|
laraplatman said: . it arrives from ME but from about 10 different people at marketingcouk.com This ^
|
|
|
Nick Grant
Original Poster
3,490 posts
104 months
|
Switch said: Chap if you get a chance to reply, have you ever replied to the PM's that have been sent to you via other PH'ers from your registered email address? Possibly I guess.
|
|
|
Switch
3,065 posts
44 months
PH Techie Junior
|
Nick Grant said: They do not appear to have been forwarded. thanks for confirming that. Nick Grant said: Possibly I guess. GooglingA quick Google suggests that this scam is pretty wide spread. Given the spread of PistonHeads it's not beyond the pail to assume that some people have had their accounts compromised by these spammers who've just spammed everyone they've ever had email contact with, including yourself. Unfortunately as they only appear to have scrapped the email addresses instead of sending the emails from the compromised account there's no easy way to work out who got their account hacked.
|
|
|
otolith
19,345 posts
73 months
|
We've just had one of these, sent to three people in our organisation and with the from header spoofed as a fourth. Does make me wonder where they got the mailing list from, but I guess any number of correspondents have those addresses in their address book.
|
|