Login | Register
SearchMy Stuff
My ProfileMy PreferencesMy Mates RSS Feed
Reply to Topic
Author Discussion

SlimJ

Original Poster:

296 posts

98 months

[news] 
Saturday 28th July 2012 quote quote all
Hi,

My father was interested in a BMW Z4 displayed in the classifieds section, it sounded dodgy to me so thought I would check it out. The car was up for £3800 (too cheap IMO), the seller was based in Italy with the sale being managed by "Pistonheads Car Sales Department" as they called it. The car was then removed from the classifieds section as apparently it was "sold" but the buyer couldn't come up with the funds.

Now, this so called department has sent all details through the email address: sales@carsoffice-pistonheads.com

According to the seller, Kate (kate69@btinternet.com) the car is held by PistonHeads, in order to get the car Dad has to pay the sum up front to PH, PH then send the car to us then release the funds to the seller.

I know what I think but Dad isn't so sure this is a scam, I've told him several times to walk away as it has dodgy written all over it. smile

Please can PH confirm this? All details have been sent through to PH via email.

Cheers
James

eldar

6,996 posts

65 months

[news] 
Saturday 28th July 2012 quote quote all
Scammier than the scammier mayor of scam town.

PH host adverts and forums. Nothing more.

rix

713 posts

59 months

[news] 
Saturday 28th July 2012 quote quote all
SlimJ said:
it sounded dodgy to me
SlimJ said:
The car was up for £3800
SlimJ said:
the seller was based in Italy
SlimJ said:
"Pistonheads Car Sales Department"
SlimJ said:
The car was then removed from the classifieds
SlimJ said:
sales@carsoffice-pistonheads.com
SlimJ said:
the car is held by PistonHeads
SlimJ said:
Dad has to pay the sum up front to PH
An you're asking for confirmation?

With all due respect it continually amazes me that people even entertain these kind of adverts.

Yeah, a scam!

tbc

1,537 posts

44 months

[news] 
Saturday 28th July 2012 quote quote all
complete bks

you would be mad to buy a car without seeing it or test driving it

fair enough bidding on ebay for a car, at least you can go and look/test it

Matt172

11,073 posts

113 months

[news] 
Saturday 28th July 2012 quote quote all
Have a read through the Fraud warnings wiki at the top of the page

http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?h=0&a...


Taken from the wiki Also remember that PistonHeads does not sell cars for anyone.

If the advert is still on the system, it's worth reporting it so that we can remove it
Advertisement

MrBrightSi

1,033 posts

39 months

[news] 
Saturday 28th July 2012 quote quote all
This is obviously a scam to those who don't want the car, but when you're common sense is clouded by something you want a deal so good, we can't help but ask the advice of those impartial. Atleast everyone here has earmarked this as ultrascam.

Garlick

38,300 posts

109 months

PH Manager Bloke

[news] 
Saturday 28th July 2012 quote quote all
Matt172 said:
Have a read through the Fraud warnings wiki at the top of the page

http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?h=0&a...


Taken from the wiki Also remember that PistonHeads does not sell cars for anyone.

If the advert is still on the system, it's worth reporting it so that we can remove it
Matt says it all, definitely a scam and something we warn about within our fraud warnings displayed alongside classifieds adverts and on our email system too.

Please do report the advert so we can remove the advert and ban the seller.

Thanks for your help

Johnnytheboy

7,171 posts

55 months

[news] 
Sunday 29th July 2012 quote quote all
So many of these scams feature an email like <girl's name><number>@<free email domain>.
Reply to Topic