Auto delete when downloading to PC.
Auto delete when downloading to PC.
Author
Discussion

Balmoral Green

Original Poster:

42,561 posts

278 months

Sunday 23rd July 2006
quotequote all
Got myself a JVC Everio 505, took some pics and vid with it, put the software on my PC and downloaded my 1st few bits of stuff, no problem. But, it wipes the hard drive in the camera as it does so. Is it supposed to do this? My old Canon Ixus used to ask me if I wanted to delete the pics in the camera and gave me the option, the Everio appears to just wipe the lot regardless.

JVC said:
Whether it's scenes from your vacation, a visual diary of a growing child, or everyday snapshots, just keep on shooting and keep them stored on the camcorder's hard disk drive.

The camcorder itself will be your life's visual album. If you ever want to relive a special moment, such as baby's first steps or last year's birthday party, just take a look at your Everio G.

And no matter how much you shoot, thumbnail images let you quickly and easily access the scenes you want to see.


The more I think about this, the more I reckon its a fault? Obviously will be contacting JVC in the morning, but wondered if anyone could shed any light this evening though.





Edited by Balmoral Green on Sunday 23 July 22:57

UKBob

16,277 posts

295 months

Sunday 23rd July 2006
quotequote all
Balmoral Green said:
The more I think about this, the more I reckon its a fault? Obviously will be contacting JVC in the morning, but wondered if anyone could shed any light this evening though.

1) Have you looked for a toggle autodelete/or-not setting?
2) No piece of hardware/software that I have used of has an autodelete function. Its usually the one feature which requires a double-check-confirm before proceeding...

Im sure JVC will be able to shed some light.

robdickinson

31,343 posts

284 months

Sunday 23rd July 2006
quotequote all
Its usualy an option on the software that downloads on the PC, rather than a setting on the camera I think.

graham@reading

26,553 posts

255 months

Monday 24th July 2006
quotequote all


ACDSee, for example, will delete from memory cards after it's finished transferring the pics onto your PC.

It is a user-configured setting though and not enabled by default.

Balmoral Green

Original Poster:

42,561 posts

278 months

Monday 24th July 2006
quotequote all
Thanks for the replies folks.

I cant find anything to toggle this option in the camera menus, as for the download software, the camera came with various products for editing pics and video and burning DVD's etc (Digital photo navigator & Cyberlink DVD solution), but it has no specialist software for downloading. The PC treats the camera as USB mass storage and you open the folder to view files using Windows Explorer, then create a new folder and drag the pic/vid files to the new folder saving it wherever.

When disconnecting the camera, using the safely remove hardware icon etc, it appears to delete the camera files then.

Will see what JVC have to say, if their customer services is any good.

Thanks.

Edited by Balmoral Green on Monday 24th July 09:18

Gemm

1,833 posts

245 months

Monday 24th July 2006
quotequote all
Maybe I'm being stupid here but isn't there an option to 'copy' instead of 'move'?

Balmoral Green

Original Poster:

42,561 posts

278 months

Monday 24th July 2006
quotequote all
Gemm said:
Maybe I'm being stupid here
Highly likely that I am the one being stupid

graham@reading

26,553 posts

255 months

Monday 24th July 2006
quotequote all
Given it's a different drive, Windows' default behaviour is to copy rather than move anyway. Should be a little + sign next to the items under your mouse pointer as you drag them to the destination to indicate that.

(Unless you're holding down shift still from multiple selections. Keeping shift down will move them rather than copy. Then on removing the device, it'll synch everything up, which will include deleting the originals).

Edited by graham@reading on Monday 24th July 09:21

Balmoral Green

Original Poster:

42,561 posts

278 months

Monday 24th July 2006
quotequote all
I think I have sussed it now.

I was creating a new folder, and then dragging and dropping the pic/vid file into the new folder, as per the instructions, then I was moving the new folder to where I wanted it. When finished, originals lost from the camera.

However, if I create the new folder where I want it in the 1st place, then drag & drop the file to the new folder, the camera retains the originals.

I dont know why this makes a difference, but it does. Anyone know why?

Thanks.