Stolen Camera
Author
Discussion

Mr Gear

Original Poster:

9,416 posts

219 months

Friday 19th November 2010
quotequote all
I found a nice camera on ebay. But a shoddy description and no box, charger or instructions have set alarm bells ringing. So I requested a serial number and he has sent an abusive email back...

What does PH think? Am I paranoid, or is he a total scumbag?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&am...


Mike_CTR

2,729 posts

230 months

Friday 19th November 2010
quotequote all
Mr Gear said:
I found a nice camera on ebay. But a shoddy description and no box, charger or instructions have set alarm bells ringing. So I requested a serial number and he has sent an abusive email back...

What does PH think? Am I paranoid, or is he a total scumbag?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&am...
I'd avoid.. Surely an actual owner would have no qualms handing over the serial number.

Enquire as to the shutter count perhaps?

Mr Gear

Original Poster:

9,416 posts

219 months

Friday 19th November 2010
quotequote all
Mike_CTR said:
Mr Gear said:
I found a nice camera on ebay. But a shoddy description and no box, charger or instructions have set alarm bells ringing. So I requested a serial number and he has sent an abusive email back...

What does PH think? Am I paranoid, or is he a total scumbag?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&am...
I'd avoid.. Surely an actual owner would have no qualms handing over the serial number.

Enquire as to the shutter count perhaps?
Judging by his second email to me, I don't think he will answer a third.

wink

But I would appreciate it if someone else wants to step in and dig a little deeper. Thanks in advance!

Simpo Two

92,766 posts

294 months

Friday 19th November 2010
quotequote all
Boxes can get thrown away but the fact it has no charger is a little odd.

Perhaps he thinks that if he reveals the serial number somebody will 'clone' it? But I don't like his attitude (or literacy), so walk away.

crmcatee

5,805 posts

256 months

Friday 19th November 2010
quotequote all
Dropped him a note asking for some information.

But certainly got the appearance of hotter than a hot thing.

Hub

7,131 posts

227 months

Saturday 20th November 2010
quotequote all
Has it even got lens and camera body caps?

giw12

1,461 posts

292 months

Saturday 20th November 2010
quotequote all
I recently bought a 2nd hand DSLR on eBay and, given how relatively delicate they are, I wanted to be as sure as possible about the seller.

So, things like original box and all the manuals, lots of quality pictures of the item, a credible reason for sale etc all seemed like sound pointers, but no guarantee of course.

In the event, the camera was in perfect condition and I paid a good price for it.

If I'd seen the ad you've linked to, I'd still be running away.

I'd say move on fella..there are plenty of good ones out there!

smile

NDA

25,626 posts

254 months

Saturday 20th November 2010
quotequote all
I've just asked if he's got the original receipt. I wonder if I'll get an abusive email? smile

Amused2death

2,526 posts

225 months

Saturday 20th November 2010
quotequote all
Anybody fancy digging further?

C Amadi
455 roman road
Bow
london
London
E3 5LX
United Kingdom

0208 9811764

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&a...

bigandclever

14,363 posts

267 months

Saturday 20th November 2010
quotequote all
Amused2death said:
Anybody fancy digging further?

C Amadi
455 roman road
Bow
london
London
E3 5LX
United Kingdom

0208 9811764

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&a...
boneset001@yahoo.co.uk is also linked with
richtronics
9 clare house
cooper road
london
London
SE15JD
United Kingdom


plasticpig

12,932 posts

254 months

Saturday 20th November 2010
quotequote all
According to Companies House. Smartronics Ltd registered offices is:

SMARTRONICS LIMITED
9 CLARE HOUSE
COOPERS ROAD
LONDON
UNITED KINGDOM
SE1 5JD


Pothole

34,367 posts

311 months

Saturday 20th November 2010
quotequote all
Amused2death said:
Anybody fancy digging further?

C Amadi
455 roman road
Bow
london
London
E3 5LX
United Kingdom

0208 9811764

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&a...
just round the corner from my old gaff! New build which wasn't there last time I was but that was probably 3 years ago...walk away. I'm sure there are other GENUINE bargs to be found

NDA

25,626 posts

254 months

Saturday 20th November 2010
quotequote all
Seems reasonable.... laugh


hi
there no i lost a bag so i lost the chargers and every manual that comes with the camera.thank you

- smartronics_parts