DVLA vehicle tax scam warning
Discussion
Hi all
Just received an e-mail this morning

My first thought was what are the f
kwits on about as I've SORN the motorcycle for winter 10 days ago,
I opened the link Doh…!

Now as it didn't report a registration and I have 2 motorcycles SORN I stopped there and waited for this evening
This evening I checked both bikes and they report as SORN on the official DVLA site
Note the differences in the site appearance

The real DVLA site is (I've removed the HTT from HTTP(S)
ps://www.gov.uk/check-vehicle-tax
The fake was
p://www.dvla.services.co.uk-6159368de39251d7a-login.id.security.trackid.piwikb7c1867dd7ba9c57.31bca053d937e62e194a0bd445800b45.ssa-va.org/.x/data/ff0f18863afc12f128f93d89e900211e/vehicle.php?&sessionid=6d448f733c78ee9a4510e5dd0c303ffb&securessl=true
Be careful out there
Just received an e-mail this morning
My first thought was what are the f
kwits on about as I've SORN the motorcycle for winter 10 days ago,I opened the link Doh…!
Now as it didn't report a registration and I have 2 motorcycles SORN I stopped there and waited for this evening
This evening I checked both bikes and they report as SORN on the official DVLA site
Note the differences in the site appearance
The real DVLA site is (I've removed the HTT from HTTP(S)
ps://www.gov.uk/check-vehicle-tax
The fake was
p://www.dvla.services.co.uk-6159368de39251d7a-login.id.security.trackid.piwikb7c1867dd7ba9c57.31bca053d937e62e194a0bd445800b45.ssa-va.org/.x/data/ff0f18863afc12f128f93d89e900211e/vehicle.php?&sessionid=6d448f733c78ee9a4510e5dd0c303ffb&securessl=true
Be careful out there

Monkeylegend said:
"Avoiding unpleasant consequences" is a bit of a giveaway, they would never say that, would they?
Doesn't seem like DVLA jargon.
Agreed, also the subject line onthe original has the padlock symbol and the fake site says gbp 1000 which is a foreign way of putting it, DVLA would say £1000Doesn't seem like DVLA jargon.
But, this is a good way to share the info, so thank you
Unfortunately the e-mail was received on my phone and so I opened it there,
Once I opened it at home the fact it was a http rather than a secure https (with padlock) was a telltale
I phoned DVLA and checked it wasn't from them & reported, they took the details
I'm not naïve but guiltily I could have progressed it on the phone easily
Once I opened it at home the fact it was a http rather than a secure https (with padlock) was a telltale
I phoned DVLA and checked it wasn't from them & reported, they took the details
I'm not naïve but guiltily I could have progressed it on the phone easily
T6 vanman said:
Unfortunately the e-mail was received on my phone and so I opened it there,
Once I opened it at home the fact it was a http rather than a secure https (with padlock) was a telltale
I phoned DVLA and checked it wasn't from them & reported, they took the details
I'm not naïve but guiltily I could have progressed it on the phone easily
Thanks for posting, I know my mother in law would have been caught out by it.Once I opened it at home the fact it was a http rather than a secure https (with padlock) was a telltale
I phoned DVLA and checked it wasn't from them & reported, they took the details
I'm not naïve but guiltily I could have progressed it on the phone easily
Blown2CV said:
uk-refund-ref61.com
does not sound like a genuine government domain...
Indeed.does not sound like a genuine government domain...
For that to come up on your phone I would be properly paranoid .
poster above - ensure you machine is fully patched and your antivirus is up to date, because something has skimmed your info imo.
MitchT said:
Blown2CV said:
T6 vanman said:
Agreed that domain does look dodgy,
I'd also edit your photo to remove your number ……..
You wouldn't want any unsolicited texts
that's the scammer's numberI'd also edit your photo to remove your number ……..
You wouldn't want any unsolicited texts


Not got this internet security licked yet have I 
eliot said:
Blown2CV said:
uk-refund-ref61.com
does not sound like a genuine government domain...
Indeed.does not sound like a genuine government domain...
For that to come up on your phone I would be properly paranoid .
poster above - ensure you machine is fully patched and your antivirus is up to date, because something has skimmed your info imo.
Gassing Station | The Lounge | Top of Page | What's New | My Stuff


