Does this look right to you
Discussion
I'm selling my car on fleabay at the moment.
I included my mobile number and todat recieved a text from a guy asking me to send more details to his email address.
I did that, and later recieved the following reply.
Could you have a look at it and see what you think.
Something just doesn't seem right here:
"Thanks for the swift response...I am willing to offer you your asking price for it. due to the nature of my job and location...i will not be able to come for inspection,am a very busy type as i work long hours everyday,i have gone through your advertisement and i am satisfied with it.
As for the payment..i will be paying you via the fastest and secure way to pay online(PayPal).
I have a private courier agent that will come for the pick up after the payment have been made ...so no shipping included.
You can now send me your PayPal email so i can pay in right away and also include your address in your reply.If you don't have a paypal account, you can easily set up one...log on to www.paypal.co.uk and sign up. its very easy.
I await your reply asap".
So whaddayathink
I included my mobile number and todat recieved a text from a guy asking me to send more details to his email address.
I did that, and later recieved the following reply.
Could you have a look at it and see what you think.
Something just doesn't seem right here:
"Thanks for the swift response...I am willing to offer you your asking price for it. due to the nature of my job and location...i will not be able to come for inspection,am a very busy type as i work long hours everyday,i have gone through your advertisement and i am satisfied with it.
As for the payment..i will be paying you via the fastest and secure way to pay online(PayPal).
I have a private courier agent that will come for the pick up after the payment have been made ...so no shipping included.
You can now send me your PayPal email so i can pay in right away and also include your address in your reply.If you don't have a paypal account, you can easily set up one...log on to www.paypal.co.uk and sign up. its very easy.
I await your reply asap".
So whaddayathink
Thanks
I'm fairly new to all this so forgive me for being naive, although at least I did smell a rat.
What I don't understand is he's offering to pay me, and is asking for my address.
If I were to sell a car I wouldn't accept paypal anyway due to their commision charges, but I have sold other items, and given my address along with my email address for paypal payment and never thought twice about it.
Are we saying these people can access your paypal account if they have your home address.
Whilst on the subject of potential scams.
One site I posted my car on, shows the add with a google map showing the exact location of my car.
This shocked me, because anyone stealing to order can search for a specific vehicle, find out all about it through the add description, and if it takes their fancy, pinpoint it's exact location.
I'm fairly new to all this so forgive me for being naive, although at least I did smell a rat.
What I don't understand is he's offering to pay me, and is asking for my address.
If I were to sell a car I wouldn't accept paypal anyway due to their commision charges, but I have sold other items, and given my address along with my email address for paypal payment and never thought twice about it.
Are we saying these people can access your paypal account if they have your home address.
Whilst on the subject of potential scams.
One site I posted my car on, shows the add with a google map showing the exact location of my car.
This shocked me, because anyone stealing to order can search for a specific vehicle, find out all about it through the add description, and if it takes their fancy, pinpoint it's exact location.
They're just trying to get you to 'sign up' to a fake PayPal site - into which they hope you will enter your credit card details.
Just ignore it and they'll go away.
eta: A similar thing happened to me last week, I just deleted it and have heard nothing since.
You did the right thing to come on here and ask. You may get some flak from the 'seen it all before' lobby, but it's a new experience for you and a lesson learned.
I did exactly the same thing the first time it happened to me, and the wisdom of more experienced PHers was helpful.
Just ignore it and they'll go away.
eta: A similar thing happened to me last week, I just deleted it and have heard nothing since.
You did the right thing to come on here and ask. You may get some flak from the 'seen it all before' lobby, but it's a new experience for you and a lesson learned.
I did exactly the same thing the first time it happened to me, and the wisdom of more experienced PHers was helpful.
Edited by forsure on Sunday 8th August 05:02
bdr529 said:
It does not look right. At all.
And why is that then?forsure said:
I'm guessing the PayPal link is a scam, their genuine address ends with .com
Well guess I've been using a fake Paypal for the past few years then as mine is .co.ukforsure said:
They're just trying to get you to 'sign up' to a fake PayPal site - into which they hope you will enter your credit card details.
Just ignore it and they'll go away.
No it is actually the Real Paypal site!Just ignore it and they'll go away.
The Op could ignore it and possibly lose a potential sale as well!
Folks I don't mean to be aggy here and no this isn't just a Troll, but why every time someone says they can't come and see the car or they will get someone else to collect it do we assume that its a scam?
This buyer in question has said he will use Paypal, he asked the op if he already had an account and if not, gave the link. What would the scammer have achieved if the Op does have an account already?
At the end of the day, its down to the Ops feeling of this buyer, what's the harm in him contacting the buyer and saying only cash, get your courier to pay me on collection?
I'll get my asbestos cloak on now!

PayPal offers no protection to the seller if the goods are collected.
Possible chain of events
i) "buyer" transfers cash through PayPal to seller (possibly triggering a PayPal money laundering investigation if the sum is too high)
ii) car is collected
iii) "buyer" files a non-delivery complaint with PayPal
iv) PayPal require seller to provide online proof of delivery
v) money goes back to "seller"
Or, more likely, if the seller goes ahead - there will be an e-mail from a non-existent "escrow" part of PayPal claiming that the money is being held until the car has been collected.
Possible chain of events
i) "buyer" transfers cash through PayPal to seller (possibly triggering a PayPal money laundering investigation if the sum is too high)
ii) car is collected
iii) "buyer" files a non-delivery complaint with PayPal
iv) PayPal require seller to provide online proof of delivery
v) money goes back to "seller"
Or, more likely, if the seller goes ahead - there will be an e-mail from a non-existent "escrow" part of PayPal claiming that the money is being held until the car has been collected.
Edited by marshalla on Sunday 8th August 07:58
MadmanO/T People said:
Nobody buys a car sight unseen.
I've done it.Bought a car 1,500km away.
Admittedly, not via Ebay, but through a car club's classified section.
First time I clapped eyes on the car was when it was being unloaded in my driveway.
None of which proves that the prospective buyer in the OP's post is legit, but in this case there is wiggle room for the buyer to be on the straight and narrow, as others have said...well, at least one other.
Well, I've emailed the guy twice now requesting cash on collection, and both of them have bounced back as undeliverable, so it appears it was an attempted scam after all.
Equally as irritating to be honest are the mickey mouse offers I'm getting.
I've pitched this car about £500-£800 below it's market value for a quick sale.
It's totally immaculate and low mileage.
I've done my research on prices, but people are still emailing me with stupid offers.
I guess it's probably dealers hoping I'm desperate.
Equally as irritating to be honest are the mickey mouse offers I'm getting.
I've pitched this car about £500-£800 below it's market value for a quick sale.
It's totally immaculate and low mileage.
I've done my research on prices, but people are still emailing me with stupid offers.
I guess it's probably dealers hoping I'm desperate.
Gassing Station | General Gassing [Archive] | Top of Page | What's New | My Stuff




