Too cheap, no?
Author
Discussion

Mikeyplum

Original Poster:

1,646 posts

199 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
Came accross these ads on A/T...

Surely a scam right? The obvious "genericname@popularmailhostingsite.com" plastered accross pictures and "call before 5"...

The cars in question are surely worth more than advertised, I could perhaps understand if Cat C, or accident damaged, but no mention at all!!

What you reckon PH?

Autotrader Ad said:
Autotrader Ad said:
ETA - Sorry if repost, but first time I've come accross this and I'm on PH nearly everyday and haven't read anything similar...


Edited by Mikeyplum on Sunday 29th May 21:20

R12HCO

826 posts

189 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
Seriously?

rallycross

13,752 posts

267 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
on a scale of 1 to 10, just how stupid would you describe yourself as?

Mikeyplum

Original Poster:

1,646 posts

199 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
rallycross said:
on a scale of 1 to 10, just how stupid would you describe yourself as?
Ordinarily a 5 wink

I'm not saying it is something that I would actuall think is genuine...

Or888t

1,686 posts

203 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
Hahahaha! There seams to be loads of them, in the same format with slightly dif emails yikes
Can't beleve they havent all been pulled, are people really that stupid?!

nottyash

4,671 posts

225 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
Mikeyplum said:
rallycross said:
on a scale of 1 to 10, just how stupid would you describe yourself as?
Ordinarily a 5 wink

I'm not saying it is something that I would actuall think is genuine...
So why ask?

Mikeyplum

Original Poster:

1,646 posts

199 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
Or888t said:
Hahahaha! There seams to be loads of them, in the same format with slightly dif emails yikes
Can't beleve they havent all been pulled, are people really that stupid?!
Yeah there's quite a few on there...

The thing is, people must buy into them otherwise they wouldn't keep advertising... afterall it's costing the scammer to advertise, so must be a good return...

Would it be the usual "pay into x banka ccount and I will personally deliver the car after a full Valet and Detail of course. Oh, and I'll throw in a full tank if fuel for good measure!"

Or888t

1,686 posts

203 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
Are these from the same website/person that the PH detectives outed last year?
Finding a full record of his companies, his name, pictures etc etc etc...

FezzaDude

381 posts

205 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
total Scam. As mentioned above its always the same format with the emails, and not being able to call the seller etc.

Mikeyplum

Original Poster:

1,646 posts

199 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
nottyash said:
Mikeyplum said:
rallycross said:
on a scale of 1 to 10, just how stupid would you describe yourself as?
Ordinarily a 5 wink

I'm not saying it is something that I would actuall think is genuine...
So why ask?
Last time I checked, this was a discussion forum - hence the present discussion...

Next time I'll be sure to PM you the topic in which I would like to discuss for your approval... rolleyes

Mikeyplum

Original Poster:

1,646 posts

199 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
Looking at "Sellers other items" there seems to be a stload more!!

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/dealer/411754/stock/us...

How do I go about reporting him?

Deva Link

26,934 posts

275 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
Mikeyplum said:
The thing is, people must buy into them otherwise they wouldn't keep advertising... afterall it's costing the scammer to advertise, so must be a good return...
No it doesn't - they use someone else's credit card. Probably your's.

Mikeyplum

Original Poster:

1,646 posts

199 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
Deva Link said:
No it doesn't - they use someone else's credit card. Probably your's.
Good luck to them using MY credit card... sod all to use wink

Fox-

13,575 posts

276 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
Friend of mine was done with this - I don't know how but they hijacked his autotrader advert, probably using a phishing scam, then changed the advert over.

saleen836

12,503 posts

239 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
Have seen a couple of these type of adverts in the PH classifieds which were swiftly removed.

nottyash

4,671 posts

225 months

Sunday 29th May 2011
quotequote all
Mikeyplum said:
nottyash said:
Mikeyplum said:
rallycross said:
on a scale of 1 to 10, just how stupid would you describe yourself as?
Ordinarily a 5 wink

I'm not saying it is something that I would actuall think is genuine...
So why ask?
Last time I checked, this was a discussion forum - hence the present discussion...

Next time I'll be sure to PM you the topic in which I would like to discuss for your approval... rolleyes
laugh