senders email address.dodgy response to adverts
senders email address.dodgy response to adverts
Author
Discussion

minihanet

Original Poster:

26 posts

188 months

Wednesday 1st June 2011
quotequote all
I dont know if this is the corect forum but here we go...

I have my Porsche Boxster up for sale here and recieved the following email. Please note the senders email address (USA)..
Now, i consider this only to be an attempt to gain the address of my car so they can - well, knick it i suppose!

PLEASE BE AWARE OF THESE TYPES OF EMAIL RESPONSES.

--- On Wed, 5/25/11, Tony <minihanet@googlemail.com> wrote:


"britney.michae2570@att.net" <britney.michae2570@att.net>
Date: Wednesday, May 25, 2011, 6:46 AM
- Show quoted text -
show details 11:01 (1 hour ago)

Hello Tony,

Thanks for your response and how are you doing this morning. Hope you're doing great? I'm deeply sorry for my abrupt silence all this while to your email,I got an impromptu memo from my boss of an official assignment to New York which occupied my time recently. I squeeze time to reply you back, I hope the car is still much available for sales. I'll need the pick up address where it will be picked so that I can have it across to the pickup Agent to calculate the total estimate cost for me cos I want it placed on next day freight cargo delivery, before I proceed further. I will be waiting for your swift response hopefully today.

Thanks
Britney




wildcat45

8,160 posts

219 months

Wednesday 1st June 2011
quotequote all
I got something like this.

Simply gave the guy - who in my case was probably totally honest - an address where I used to live 20 odd years ago. Same town, about a mile away. It was nearby enough for him to get an idea of distance but too far from the real address. if he thought about pitching up to nick it.

J4CKO

46,839 posts

230 months

Wednesday 1st June 2011
quotequote all
Nah, you will be asked to wire some money.

Colonial

13,553 posts

235 months

Wednesday 1st June 2011
quotequote all
minihanet said:
I dont know if this is the corect forum but here we go...

I have my Porsche Boxster up for sale here and recieved the following email. Please note the senders email address (USA)..
Now, i consider this only to be an attempt to gain the address of my car so they can - well, knick it i suppose!

PLEASE BE AWARE OF THESE TYPES OF EMAIL RESPONSES.

--- On Wed, 5/25/11, Tony <minihanet@googlemail.com> wrote:


"britney.michae2570@att.net" <britney.michae2570@att.net>
Date: Wednesday, May 25, 2011, 6:46 AM
- Show quoted text -
show details 11:01 (1 hour ago)

Hello Tony,

Thanks for your response and how are you doing this morning. Hope you're doing great? I'm deeply sorry for my abrupt silence all this while to your email,I got an impromptu memo from my boss of an official assignment to New York which occupied my time recently. I squeeze time to reply you back, I hope the car is still much available for sales. I'll need the pick up address where it will be picked so that I can have it across to the pickup Agent to calculate the total estimate cost for me cos I want it placed on next day freight cargo delivery, before I proceed further. I will be waiting for your swift response hopefully today.

Thanks
Britney
Scam.

No one called Britney could ever write anything that coherent

soad

34,663 posts

206 months

Wednesday 1st June 2011
quotequote all
Sounds like a scam to me

Davel

8,982 posts

288 months

Wednesday 1st June 2011
quotequote all
Or/

He will then send payment to cover the car and shipping so that the agent will collect the car and the shipping costs from you.

The payment comes to you and he then urges you to pay the agent NOW, whilst the funds are not fully clear.

You pay the agent and the funds bounce which he has paid you.

A 'Dutch Dentist' tried this on me. Luckily I have clients in Holland who confirmed that he didn't exist, so passed it on to the Police.

The cheque was from a stolen cheque book belonging to a UK company.

iphonedyou

10,416 posts

187 months

Wednesday 1st June 2011
quotequote all
As said above, you'll be asked to wire money.

I had a new one today regarding the Golf I had for sale. I told him the price had gone up from £9000 to £11000, and he said OK, not a problem. I then told him it had no engine and only 3 wheels, and was a category A write off. He said OK, not a problem.

He asked for my paypal address. I don't have one, but sent him the email address he was using anyway. Then he tells me sorry, only Western Union... that's how far I'm at now.

15 emails smile

Colonial

13,553 posts

235 months

Wednesday 1st June 2011
quotequote all
Could be worse.

He could have asked for a 50 mile test drive to check fuel consumption.

cheadle hulme

2,502 posts

212 months

Wednesday 1st June 2011
quotequote all
I think its highly considerate of scammers to write in that peculiar disjointed style they have. One might find oneself deceived otherwise.