Please do not call.....
Please do not call.....
Author
Discussion

mattyn1

Original Poster:

7,048 posts

184 months

Friday 25th May 2012
quotequote all
What is going on here - there is only one reason someone cannot take calls!!

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/2012...


captainzep

13,306 posts

221 months

Friday 25th May 2012
quotequote all
Autotrader is currently saturated with this bks and has been for a few weeks.

Can't believe they haven't sorted it yet.


Gargamel

16,366 posts

290 months

Friday 25th May 2012
quotequote all
good price, I would buy it ......

MondeoMan1981

2,458 posts

212 months

Friday 25th May 2012
quotequote all
Scams on AT, well I never !

Sometimes they have one of the photos as a text picture saying not to call but to email.

Scammity scam scam scam !

HBFS

803 posts

220 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
I've offered £1500 for the car smile

PJ S

10,842 posts

256 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
An '08 1 Series for £4000 - yeah, that's genuine alright.....pfft!
Maybe if you'd done more than just glance at the ad, you'd not be showing your lack of reading and comprehension ability!

TheEnd

15,370 posts

217 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
PJ S said:
An '08 1 Series for £4000 - yeah, that's genuine alright.....pfft!
Maybe if you'd done more than just glance at the ad, you'd not be showing your lack of reading and comprehension ability!
I'd have thought scam listings have to write "scam" clearly in the text somewhere for it to be legal.

Locke

1,279 posts

213 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
In what way do they normally scam when they advertise cheaply like this?

gowmonster

2,471 posts

196 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
Locke said:
In what way do they normally scam when they advertise cheaply like this?
by taking your money and not giving you the car, or the car is nicked etc.

ambuletz

11,752 posts

210 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
weird how the website mentioned in the description does not work. But the 'visit website' one on the right does. Wonderful how a prestigious dealership seems to only have 1 vauxhall combo van for sale. And that the first line of their address is 'Fleet Handling Centre'

SAAB93AERO

101 posts

172 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
wouldn't it make more sense to advertise it at slightly below the normal price so it doesn't look like a scam but generates a lot of interest?

SubaruSteve

546 posts

220 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
SAAB93AERO said:
wouldn't it make more sense to advertise it at slightly below the normal price so it doesn't look like a scam but generates a lot of interest?
I think the point is that if you are stupid enough to not realise that you are being scammed with a price soooo low that even a complete fool shouldn't be taken in then you are also likely to be the kind of person who would fall hook line and sinker into their trap to relieve you of a few thousand quid.

mattyn1

Original Poster:

7,048 posts

184 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
PJ S said:
An '08 1 Series for £4000 - yeah, that's genuine alright.....pfft!
Maybe if you'd done more than just glance at the ad, you'd not be showing your lack of reading and comprehension ability!
erm - does this need a woosh?? hehe

darkcat

2,354 posts

199 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
so how does he scam deal work??
they ask you to send a deposit via western union or something??

sjg

7,677 posts

294 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
Dealer's Autotrader account is compromised - trojan/keylogger on a PC, or just a weak and easy to guess password.

Scammer uploads a load of fake ads with popular cars at very low prices. Adverts will always carry the dealer's phone number so there's text saying to email or visit another site. If someone's stupid and greedy enough to fall for that and get in touch with them, they'll be spun a story about the car being overseas, still registered in the UK, needs to be shipped, and conned into sending the money upfront. Car of course doesn't exist, scammer disappears.

BigNige

2,584 posts

253 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
mattyn1 said:
erm - does this need a woosh?? hehe
No, it looks quite clean to me

mattyn1

Original Poster:

7,048 posts

184 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
Ad seems to have gone now!

StevieB

777 posts

177 months

Saturday 26th May 2012
quotequote all
Ive been thinking this for ages. What a con! About time Autotrader got their act together and sorted this out.