I don't Beleive it!
Discussion
Eh?
I only paid £20 to change mine from the old style to a new photocard type jobby.
Are you sure you didn't go through one of those sites that check your details before submitting to the DVLA?
ETA - did you use the gov.uk site? Just checked and there are loads of official looking sites that are really only third party shysters.
I only paid £20 to change mine from the old style to a new photocard type jobby.
Are you sure you didn't go through one of those sites that check your details before submitting to the DVLA?
ETA - did you use the gov.uk site? Just checked and there are loads of official looking sites that are really only third party shysters.
Edited by valiant on Tuesday 28th January 17:30
This suggests contacting you Bank to get a refund, dunno if it's possible -
http://www.consumeractiongroup.co.uk/forum/showthr...
http://www.consumeractiongroup.co.uk/forum/showthr...
This is the site I used. For all intents and purposes looked like the official DVLA site to me, didn't click on any ads. 1st page of google :-(
https://www.dvla-driving-licence.co.uk/
'Visit DVLA' button on the top. Leads to the actual .gov website. https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/driver...
Before you post any more to this thread, we require you to verify your identity by supplying your Credit card number, Expiry date and CCV number.
PM me the details if you think that is more secure...
For future reference, any Uk government site will generally have ".gov" or ".org" as the last part of the web domain.
e.g. https://www.taxdisc.direct.gov.uk/EvlPortalApp/app/home/intro?skin=directgov
PM me the details if you think that is more secure...
For future reference, any Uk government site will generally have ".gov" or ".org" as the last part of the web domain.
e.g. https://www.taxdisc.direct.gov.uk/EvlPortalApp/app/home/intro?skin=directgov
Thankyou4calling said:
This is the site I used. For all intents and purposes looked like the official DVLA site to me, didn't click on any ads. 1st page of google :-(
https://www.dvla-driving-licence.co.uk/
I typed "renew driving licence" into Google, and that site was the first result, if you look closely you'll note it's in a slightly shaded background, indicating it's a paid for Google Ad.https://www.dvla-driving-licence.co.uk/
Easy mistake to make, they look authentic!
V8forweekends said:
This suggests contacting you Bank to get a refund, dunno if it's possible -
http://www.consumeractiongroup.co.uk/forum/showthr...
I work for a lead high street bank and although they cannot raise this as fraud as details were wilfully given and somewhere in the terms and conditions it will state that they charge for checking the form etc http://www.consumeractiongroup.co.uk/forum/showthr...
However banks can raise it as a dispute. Best thing to do (and what they will advise) Attempt to contact the merchant (noting down date and time of call, or copy of email/letter that was sent) and explain on the call you dont authorise them to take any further payments from your account (because lots of these companies sign you upto a subsciprtion service) and that you dont authoprise them to use your card details and explain you want a full refund, if the company agrees they hurray!! but when they dont, you can then call your bank and dispute. some banks wont even raise thje dispute before youve done this with the company (or attempted) as the likely hood of the dispute being approved would be declined as its hard for a bank to justify taking the funds back without the customer attempting to do so themselves first, hope this helps
I agree that its scammy and something many would fall for but it does say on the front page:
" Our service is not connected to or affiliated with the UK Government or Driving Vehicle Licence Agency and acts as an agent processing the application. These services are available from other government sources for no fee."
Could make getting anything back tricky.
" Our service is not connected to or affiliated with the UK Government or Driving Vehicle Licence Agency and acts as an agent processing the application. These services are available from other government sources for no fee."
Could make getting anything back tricky.
-Z- said:
I agree that its scammy and something many would fall for but it does say on the front page:
" Our service is not connected to or affiliated with the UK Government or Driving Vehicle Licence Agency and acts as an agent processing the application. These services are available from other government sources for no fee."
Could make getting anything back tricky.
For two reasons I've just swallowed it. Firstly, I know it'll be a ball ache to get anything back and ill likely end up throwing my IPad at the wall and secondly, it'll be a reminder to be more careful in future." Our service is not connected to or affiliated with the UK Government or Driving Vehicle Licence Agency and acts as an agent processing the application. These services are available from other government sources for no fee."
Could make getting anything back tricky.
This hazard doesn't just exist when dealing with DVLA. There are loads of ads with misleading website names which come top in Google for,
- European health card applications
- Land Registry information
- Companies house information
Ozzie Osmond said:
This hazard doesn't just exist when dealing with DVLA. There are loads of ads with misleading website names which come top in Google for,
Nearly got mugged on an ESTA form too.- European health card applications
- Land Registry information
- Companies house information
Gassing Station | General Gassing | Top of Page | What's New | My Stuff


