911.uk forum
Author
Discussion

threespins

Original Poster:

833 posts

292 months

Monday 17th June 2013
quotequote all
Is anyone having trouble with the 911 site. My virus protection won't let me on today says it's dangerous.

Magic919

14,508 posts

231 months

Monday 17th June 2013
quotequote all

spyderman8

1,748 posts

186 months

Monday 17th June 2013
quotequote all
They've added some kind of "malware-free" popup thingy - perhaps its that that's triggering your AV software? Must be very recent - haven't noticed it before tonight.

spyderman8

1,748 posts

186 months

Monday 17th June 2013
quotequote all
There's a post on their forum regarding false positives:

http://911uk.com/viewtopic.php?t=84621

Tycho1

94 posts

170 months

Tuesday 18th June 2013
quotequote all
I'm still getting a strong warning not to proceed into the 911.uk forum. Any ideas when / if it's going to be changed.

Black_mamba

313 posts

239 months

Tuesday 18th June 2013
quotequote all
Message I got:

Google Chrome has blocked access to 911uk.com for now.
Even if you have visited this website safely in the past, visiting it now is very likely to infect your computer with malware.
Malware is malicious software that causes things like identity theft, financial loss and permanent file deletion

Wozy68

5,436 posts

200 months

Tuesday 18th June 2013
quotequote all
Tycho1 said:
I'm still getting a strong warning not to proceed into the 911.uk forum. Any ideas when / if it's going to be changed.
No warnings for me. But what an awful site to use, it hangs whilst loading and seems to take an age. I'm guessing its something to do with the adverts

BillTheButcher

393 posts

191 months

Tuesday 18th June 2013
quotequote all
^ The warnings I've been getting (and I'm still getting them today) point towards dubious ad hosts. They might be false positives but a lot of different security software packages are all reporting problems.

Pugley

687 posts

222 months

Tuesday 18th June 2013
quotequote all
Same here. Trend anti virus says there is Mal-ware present on the site.

They may be hosting something that is trying to place data on other computers? bandit

sidicks

25,218 posts

251 months

Tuesday 18th June 2013
quotequote all
I got a similar message for Pistonheads at the weekend!!

Shurv

1,024 posts

190 months

Tuesday 18th June 2013
quotequote all
I'm getting strange messages from 911uk too,and there's that funny malware box on the screen all the time. The site does seem to take an age to load up,very frustrating.

kingstondc5

8,033 posts

234 months

Tuesday 18th June 2013
quotequote all
if you go on the 911uk facebook page, it explains it all there

monet100

89 posts

161 months

Tuesday 18th June 2013
quotequote all
I was getting it too yesterday and today. It let me on late yesterday evening though.

aceparts

3,724 posts

271 months

Wednesday 19th June 2013
quotequote all
That site reminds me of this http://www.milliondollarhomepage.com/

Ken Sington

3,964 posts

268 months

Thursday 20th June 2013
quotequote all
Not just me then. Of the various (too many!) car related forums I dip in and out of, that is by far and away the slowest site out there. Way too many ads which surely must be self defeating?

jeremyc

28,141 posts

314 months

Thursday 20th June 2013
quotequote all
Let's keep the discussion to the problems accessing 911uk please.