Google locked - WTF
Author
Discussion

anonymous-user

Original Poster:

84 months

Saturday 9th January 2021
quotequote all
[redacted]

stemll

5,612 posts

230 months

Saturday 9th January 2021
quotequote all
It's there to stop someone just resetting a stolen phone if they don't know the original account.

Go into settings and remove your account. Or do it from Device activity (or similar) on your google account online.

stemll

5,612 posts

230 months

Sunday 10th January 2021
quotequote all
No Android expert but that's all these say

https://support.google.com/android/answer/7664951?...
https://help.ting.com/hc/en-us/articles/205666168-...


Guess the test is do that then reset the phone. When it starts up, if it doesn't ask you to log in it's no longer locked to that account

AJB88

15,905 posts

201 months

Sunday 10th January 2021
quotequote all
The account that is locking it needs to be logged into and then removed from the phone.

stemll

5,612 posts

230 months

Sunday 10th January 2021
quotequote all
Try logging into the account on a PC as per the second bit of the Ting link above. See if you can remove the device from the account that way rather than removing the account from the device

AJB88

15,905 posts

201 months

Sunday 10th January 2021
quotequote all
They should make it mandatory during factory reset to remove the accounts (after entering passwords) to solve this, so many people fall foul of this.

stemll

5,612 posts

230 months

Sunday 10th January 2021
quotequote all
Apple has similar behaviour but add in iMessage staying connected resulting in multiple or missing messages. I see why they both do it. Without this just factory reset a lost or stolen phone and it's yours.

AJB88's suggestion would solve it with a simple "Do you want to remove account x?" If you answer yes, you enter the password and it's the same as a factory fresh phone. Answer no and you can carry on and restore all your stuff if you want to.

randlemarcus

13,646 posts

261 months

Monday 11th January 2021
quotequote all
Maybe, just maybe, its like a poster says above - its about making sure that a lost phone doesnt become someone else's too easily.

When you look at your Google account, and at signed-in devices in the security section, does the handset in question appear there any more?