Chromebook / Google Photos question
Chromebook / Google Photos question
Author
Discussion

jimbobs

Original Poster:

434 posts

286 months

Thursday 23rd December 2021
quotequote all
Mrs JB has just got a Chromebook and is struggling with Google Photos. I’m an Apple fan boy so can’t help her…

Problem is this - she’s using Google Photos in the cloud as her primary photo storage. 99% of photos are taken on her phone and synced with Google Photos. If she edits a photo on her Chromebook it creates a local copy on the Chromebook’s storage. But if she deletes the local copy it also deletes the edited version from the cloud.

She doesn’t want the fairly small local storage clogged up with duplicate photos. Does anyone know how she gets round this and just ends up with one edited version stored in the cloud only?

Have tried Google searching with no luck…

Many thanks!

Corso Marche

1,901 posts

231 months

Thursday 23rd December 2021
quotequote all
Question - are you sure she's using the web client of Google Photos, and not the android app from the Play Store on the Chromebook?

Post a screenshot of G Photos if you want and I'll know by looking at it.

(I use both on a Chromebook as they offer slightly different functions and workflows.)

numtumfutunch

5,174 posts

168 months

Thursday 23rd December 2021
quotequote all

I have an Android phone and a MacBook and use Google photos without stress

The way it works for me is I go to google.com in Chrome and open it from there

As above, is she using a local app on the chromebook?

deckster

9,631 posts

285 months

Thursday 23rd December 2021
quotequote all
On the Android mobile app there is a "Delete from device" option which will do what she wants. I don't have a Chromebook to check but it would surprise me if there wasn't something similar there.

e-honda

9,548 posts

176 months

Friday 24th December 2021
quotequote all
Possibly over thinking it, hard to know without looking at the setup, but with the exception of the download dir pretty much everything will be cloud first, so the local copy is ephemeral, it won't clog anything up the OS will just reclaim the space if needed.