senders email address.dodgy response to adverts
Discussion
I dont know if this is the corect forum but here we go...
I have my Porsche Boxster up for sale here and recieved the following email. Please note the senders email address (USA)..
Now, i consider this only to be an attempt to gain the address of my car so they can - well, knick it i suppose!
PLEASE BE AWARE OF THESE TYPES OF EMAIL RESPONSES.
--- On Wed, 5/25/11, Tony <minihanet@googlemail.com> wrote:
"britney.michae2570@att.net" <britney.michae2570@att.net>
Date: Wednesday, May 25, 2011, 6:46 AM
- Show quoted text -
show details 11:01 (1 hour ago)
Hello Tony,
Thanks for your response and how are you doing this morning. Hope you're doing great? I'm deeply sorry for my abrupt silence all this while to your email,I got an impromptu memo from my boss of an official assignment to New York which occupied my time recently. I squeeze time to reply you back, I hope the car is still much available for sales. I'll need the pick up address where it will be picked so that I can have it across to the pickup Agent to calculate the total estimate cost for me cos I want it placed on next day freight cargo delivery, before I proceed further. I will be waiting for your swift response hopefully today.
Thanks
Britney
I have my Porsche Boxster up for sale here and recieved the following email. Please note the senders email address (USA)..
Now, i consider this only to be an attempt to gain the address of my car so they can - well, knick it i suppose!
PLEASE BE AWARE OF THESE TYPES OF EMAIL RESPONSES.
--- On Wed, 5/25/11, Tony <minihanet@googlemail.com> wrote:
"britney.michae2570@att.net" <britney.michae2570@att.net>
Date: Wednesday, May 25, 2011, 6:46 AM
- Show quoted text -
show details 11:01 (1 hour ago)
Hello Tony,
Thanks for your response and how are you doing this morning. Hope you're doing great? I'm deeply sorry for my abrupt silence all this while to your email,I got an impromptu memo from my boss of an official assignment to New York which occupied my time recently. I squeeze time to reply you back, I hope the car is still much available for sales. I'll need the pick up address where it will be picked so that I can have it across to the pickup Agent to calculate the total estimate cost for me cos I want it placed on next day freight cargo delivery, before I proceed further. I will be waiting for your swift response hopefully today.
Thanks
Britney
I got something like this.
Simply gave the guy - who in my case was probably totally honest - an address where I used to live 20 odd years ago. Same town, about a mile away. It was nearby enough for him to get an idea of distance but too far from the real address. if he thought about pitching up to nick it.
Simply gave the guy - who in my case was probably totally honest - an address where I used to live 20 odd years ago. Same town, about a mile away. It was nearby enough for him to get an idea of distance but too far from the real address. if he thought about pitching up to nick it.
minihanet said:
I dont know if this is the corect forum but here we go...
I have my Porsche Boxster up for sale here and recieved the following email. Please note the senders email address (USA)..
Now, i consider this only to be an attempt to gain the address of my car so they can - well, knick it i suppose!
PLEASE BE AWARE OF THESE TYPES OF EMAIL RESPONSES.
--- On Wed, 5/25/11, Tony <minihanet@googlemail.com> wrote:
"britney.michae2570@att.net" <britney.michae2570@att.net>
Date: Wednesday, May 25, 2011, 6:46 AM
- Show quoted text -
show details 11:01 (1 hour ago)
Hello Tony,
Thanks for your response and how are you doing this morning. Hope you're doing great? I'm deeply sorry for my abrupt silence all this while to your email,I got an impromptu memo from my boss of an official assignment to New York which occupied my time recently. I squeeze time to reply you back, I hope the car is still much available for sales. I'll need the pick up address where it will be picked so that I can have it across to the pickup Agent to calculate the total estimate cost for me cos I want it placed on next day freight cargo delivery, before I proceed further. I will be waiting for your swift response hopefully today.
Thanks
Britney
Scam. I have my Porsche Boxster up for sale here and recieved the following email. Please note the senders email address (USA)..
Now, i consider this only to be an attempt to gain the address of my car so they can - well, knick it i suppose!
PLEASE BE AWARE OF THESE TYPES OF EMAIL RESPONSES.
--- On Wed, 5/25/11, Tony <minihanet@googlemail.com> wrote:
"britney.michae2570@att.net" <britney.michae2570@att.net>
Date: Wednesday, May 25, 2011, 6:46 AM
- Show quoted text -
show details 11:01 (1 hour ago)
Hello Tony,
Thanks for your response and how are you doing this morning. Hope you're doing great? I'm deeply sorry for my abrupt silence all this while to your email,I got an impromptu memo from my boss of an official assignment to New York which occupied my time recently. I squeeze time to reply you back, I hope the car is still much available for sales. I'll need the pick up address where it will be picked so that I can have it across to the pickup Agent to calculate the total estimate cost for me cos I want it placed on next day freight cargo delivery, before I proceed further. I will be waiting for your swift response hopefully today.
Thanks
Britney
No one called Britney could ever write anything that coherent
Or/
He will then send payment to cover the car and shipping so that the agent will collect the car and the shipping costs from you.
The payment comes to you and he then urges you to pay the agent NOW, whilst the funds are not fully clear.
You pay the agent and the funds bounce which he has paid you.
A 'Dutch Dentist' tried this on me. Luckily I have clients in Holland who confirmed that he didn't exist, so passed it on to the Police.
The cheque was from a stolen cheque book belonging to a UK company.
He will then send payment to cover the car and shipping so that the agent will collect the car and the shipping costs from you.
The payment comes to you and he then urges you to pay the agent NOW, whilst the funds are not fully clear.
You pay the agent and the funds bounce which he has paid you.
A 'Dutch Dentist' tried this on me. Luckily I have clients in Holland who confirmed that he didn't exist, so passed it on to the Police.
The cheque was from a stolen cheque book belonging to a UK company.
As said above, you'll be asked to wire money.
I had a new one today regarding the Golf I had for sale. I told him the price had gone up from £9000 to £11000, and he said OK, not a problem. I then told him it had no engine and only 3 wheels, and was a category A write off. He said OK, not a problem.
He asked for my paypal address. I don't have one, but sent him the email address he was using anyway. Then he tells me sorry, only Western Union... that's how far I'm at now.
15 emails
I had a new one today regarding the Golf I had for sale. I told him the price had gone up from £9000 to £11000, and he said OK, not a problem. I then told him it had no engine and only 3 wheels, and was a category A write off. He said OK, not a problem.
He asked for my paypal address. I don't have one, but sent him the email address he was using anyway. Then he tells me sorry, only Western Union... that's how far I'm at now.
15 emails

Gassing Station | General Gassing | Top of Page | What's New | My Stuff


