996 Turbo cab @ Pistol Prestige - MT54WVJ
996 Turbo cab @ Pistol Prestige - MT54WVJ
Author
Discussion

correct

Original Poster:

56 posts

206 months

Friday 10th August 2012
quotequote all
keep browsing 996's for sale, and this one in particular is starting to irritate me a little now.

www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/20114542729...

appears to be some kind of HPI recorded car

the reg: MT54 WVJ doesnt show up on any car checks.

being £19,995 and on the register, it still seems too good to be true

i have seen 2000 year, CAT D recorded cars advertised for the same price, and disappearing from listings within a few days (assuming they have sold...?) so why isnt this one selling? has a reasonable mileage for year too.

being a 2004 model, and a convertible, id expect it to be worth a few more ££££ than its up for, however the seller has had it advertised it for a very long time now, leads me to believe something isnt up to scratch with it.

upon searching google for "pistol prestige" i have found the following:

www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?h=0&f=48...

www.maseratiforum.co.uk/m_54423/mpage_1/key_/tm.ht...

www.sportsmaserati.co.uk/showthread.php/2791-Maser...

has anybody been to see this car?
are the above links random unfortunate coincidences, or is this a dodgy seller to just avoid?

usually judge cars individually, but 2 dodgy ones from sale Stockport located seller, hints a distinct smell of crap smile

JapFreak786

1,814 posts

187 months

Friday 10th August 2012
quotequote all
get someone local to go and view it maybe? or just buy mine :P

correct

Original Poster:

56 posts

206 months

Friday 10th August 2012
quotequote all
JapFreak786 said:
get someone local to go and view it maybe? or just buy mine :P
just browsing at the mo, spotted yours for sale though!

did you px the R34, or sell and then buy the 996? (i browse the classifieds a lot and saw your R34 a while back when you had it for sale! seen it back up again at a garage now. another garage with a not so good rep online...)

what makes you wanna sell the 996 already! smile

correct

Original Poster:

56 posts

206 months

Thursday 3rd January 2013
quotequote all
Really surprised it's still advertised for sale and nobody here knows anything about it?

agtlaw

7,404 posts

236 months

Thursday 3rd January 2013
quotequote all
If it's on the HPI register then it was written off by the insurer. I suspect that the damage was a bit more than slight as implied in the advert.

MrTickle

1,825 posts

269 months

Thursday 3rd January 2013
quotequote all
With it being a 1 owner car, best thing to do is have a look at the paperwork and see if you can get in touch with the original owner.



duncanoaks

24 posts

167 months

Thursday 3rd January 2013
quotequote all
MrTickle said:
With it being a 1 owner car, best thing to do is have a look at the paperwork and see if you can get in touch with the original owner.
Well said - ps just because a car is clean on a HPI check does not mean it has not been 'written off' it just means the owner did not claim on insurance therfore it would never be recorded! - beware of this shortfall!

David911RSR

1,446 posts

240 months

Thursday 3rd January 2013
quotequote all
One of the posters on the Masser forum had the car PPI'ed (see links above), evidently, the car's chassis is still bent. Some interesting comments about Pistol P's business ethics...

correct

Original Poster:

56 posts

206 months

Thursday 3rd January 2013
quotequote all
David911RSR said:
One of the posters on the Masser forum had the car PPI'ed (see links above), evidently, the car's chassis is still bent. Some interesting comments about Pistol P's business ethics...
are you talking about the maserati in the links? dont care about that! looking for info on the 996 in the original post, not the maserati. just posted those links to show that ive not posted here clueless about the company or ethics, but want to know about the specific porsche in question. smile

have a feeling the porsche will be bent. just surprised that no one has mentioned it being so, or nobody has been to see it, when the price seems appealing, most others are around the 25k mark.

correct

Original Poster:

56 posts

206 months

Thursday 3rd January 2013
quotequote all
taken from: http://www.sportsmaserati.co.uk/showthread.php/279...

Elspeth Berry said:
Pistol Prestige is indeed a total cowboy outfit. My son had agreed to buy this Maserati last summer and was messed about endlessly by Gary and Matt at Pistol Prestige, culminating in him requesting his £500 deposit back from them on 26 August 2010. Tragically my son died on 28 August 2010, just 2 days later. Both myself and my fiance have spoken to Gary and Matt on several occasions since, when they promised to refund the deposit on each occasion. This never happened. We ended up having to involve my solicitor as this was holding up the closure of his estate. They have since totally ignored all correspondence from the solicitor and have lied to Stockport Trading Standards. They are clearly extremely unscrupulous liars with no morals and no compassion.
...and wow, just when i thought things couldnt possibly look worse, they took advantage of a buyer, who is now dead, and still keep hold of money that doesnt belong to them!!! frown

feeling a little sick at the stomach.

no longer interested in giving this "dealer" (a real "stealer") my money

but interested to know about the car, and why its been advertised for probably over a year now with the same pictures, and even the same actual exact advert.

mikearwas

1,118 posts

189 months

Thursday 3rd January 2013
quotequote all
I may be an idiot but I would never, ever buy a car like that from a muppet who writes an advert like that.

Just seen your last reply so ETA that I wouldn't even buy the best 996 turbo on the market from a pair of scumbags like that. It's made me angry.

Edited by mikearwas on Thursday 3rd January 21:17

Crimp a Length!

5,697 posts

253 months

Thursday 3rd January 2013
quotequote all
Scum indeed.

mustang1968

1 posts

160 months

Tuesday 11th June 2013
quotequote all
first time on hear ,and I have to say how interesting to see so many odd people making stupid comments without knowing the facts,or jumping to there own conclusions ,I will get to the point ,I used to work for pistol prestige in stockport for a few years, they dealt in sports cars and sports salvage,i remember the masserati and it was me who recommended the garage to have it inspected ,indeed I delivered it and picked it up,and agreed with the customer that the car was not as good as described as we were not aware of damage to underside of car ,we then reduced the car by many thousands ,sold it again to chap in Scotland he had viewed and inspected the car at great length ,left a deposit and said he would collect within a week ,that was in may 2010 after leaving over 20 messages without reply ,I had no choice but to put the car back up for sale again,then in august a very angry Scottish chap rang saying we had his sons deposit and sadly he had passed away and if we didn't refund it he was going to drive down and break my jaw,well what would you do,first time I have ever spoken to this rude man and demanding deposit back after 2 months !please behave no morrals needed so we were not scum or other choice words,make your judgements based on facts and not hearsay trust me the customer is NOT allways right they just think they are

correct

Original Poster:

56 posts

206 months

Tuesday 11th June 2013
quotequote all
So can you comment on the 996? and why it's permanently advertised. Lol

James44

268 posts

199 months

Tuesday 11th June 2013
quotequote all
I keep an eye on 996T prices and the value doesn't look wrong to me (dealer issues aside)

I've seen good looking cabs (albeit online) with similar mileages for £26-£28k. It's clearly cat C or D and to my mind that would knock it down to at least where its at.

It may not have been a good repair and looks like its being sold by dodgy dealers too

... deduct another £5k ?????????