I hate these threads too, but quick help required.
I hate these threads too, but quick help required.
Author
Discussion

mug81

Original Poster:

256 posts

173 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
Evening all,

Apologies for what is essentially a 'What car' thread. However, help from the PH Community is much needed and will be very much appreciated.
I have a friend (former stripper, for those who like to visualise) who is looking for a reliable but 'cool' runaround, with a budget of £5k or so. Now, with enough notice of course I would've already performed exhaustive Due Diligence and assembled an utterly inappropriate but ultimately fantastic shortlist- all of which she would probably hate. But, seeing as she only told me this evening and already has the below being delivered tomorrow for a look we must make haste.

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/2014...

Is this a good example? Decent px, dealer have a decent rep etc?

Cost to run is a big factor, no real pref over petrol or diesel (or dynamics I suspect). Happy to hear from any dealers with something that may be suitable, she's based on the south side of Sheffield.


All help much appreciated!


sprinter11

180 posts

188 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
that advert is a scam!!!

mug81

Original Poster:

256 posts

173 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
It does seem cheap. Tell me more? She says she's had a fair bit of contact with the seller, "he seems nice" etc etc...

What's the scam?

Edited by mug81 on Sunday 23 February 21:39

matjk

1,112 posts

169 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
Dont be a Mug wink its a hijacked account, the clue is always the 'contact me on this email address in the description' you will be asked for a deposit via western union, you wont get this beack, the car is way under priced, that's another clue, this is the real dealer http://www.petesmith-fossecars.co.uk/ call him and see if he is selling the car, he wont be at that price

Lewtyper

211 posts

207 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
100% a scam.

These kind of adverts have been around for years now.

mug81

Original Poster:

256 posts

173 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
Gotcha, and thanks. WBAC just 'suggested' £7,920 so... The answer seems pretty clear on this.

Any non-scum bucket suggestions or offerings?

Fidd

287 posts

248 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
mug81 said:
she only told me this evening and already has the below being delivered tomorrow for a look we must make haste.
What are the supposed circumstances surrounding it being delivered for a look ?

mug81

Original Poster:

256 posts

173 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
Ok here's the email convo [personals removed]. It is frankly ridiculous, I'm almost embarrassed she doesn't find anything fishy about it.

Overcompensation anyone?

Begin forwarded message:

From: <@gmail.com>
Date: 23 February 2014 17:03:43 GMT
To: gmail.com
Subject: Re: Black BMW 1 series

Hello,

I still got the 2008 bmw 118d m sport step auto 1 series diesel 28500mls automatic for sale at the price of £4495. The car is in excellent condition, garage kept and accident free. The mileage is real and I never had any problems with the engine. The car looks and works just perfect. I bought it from UK and it is still registered here. We live in the Northern part of United Kingdom, in a beautiful sea-side city called Thurso.
We are a nice couple of pensioners (I have 64 and my beloved wife is 63 years old) and don't use the car so often. We love to spend our time on the road but now we use to travel by plane, so a car is no more useful for us. Also we sold our house and bought a big farm here in Thurso. If you are really interested we are ready to make a trip to England and meet you personally. You can take the car for a test-drive and any kind of inspection.
Please tell us where do you live? I am sure that we will find a nice city in England to arrange a meeting, a region acceptable for us and for you in the same time. We have the faith that this can be a good deal!

P.S. I appreciate if we can continue our conversation by e-mail. The mobile signal is poor here, we have to walk over 2 miles for a good phone call.

Thank you and let me know,
Mark


On Sun, Feb 23, 2014 at 4:08 PM, <@gmail.com> wrote:
Hi mark

Not sure if this car is still available, apologies if not. Was just hoping you could tell me some more details if so as could be interested in coming to take a look one day this week. Where exactly are you based? Has the car had any accidents etc?

Hope to hear from you.

Kind regards

Ellie

Leemcd

246 posts

161 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
Haha anybody who falls for this is a grade a moron! That email is so funny

Killer2005

20,598 posts

257 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
Obvious scam is obvious

anonymous-user

83 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
mug81 said:
a beautiful sea-side city called Thurso.
Clearly a scam, they've definitely never been to Thurso. laugh

TheLordJohn

5,746 posts

175 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
Killer2005 said:
Obvious scam is obvious
I concur.
Obvious scam is obvious.

Captainawesome

1,817 posts

192 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
She wants something 'cool' and is looking at 118ds?!?!?!? nono

mug81

Original Poster:

256 posts

173 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
Captainawesome said:
She wants something 'cool' and is looking at 118ds?!?!?!? nono
She's a girl. It's a BMW. M Sport nonetheless! What's not to like!

(Sorry to PH ladies)

Benbay001

5,892 posts

186 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
Wow.
So how much money has she given them already?

mug81

Original Poster:

256 posts

173 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
Nothing fortunately. Bloody donut. This was the backup, another cracker:


ahoo.co.uk>
Hello,

[2011 Ford FIESTA 1.6 ZETEC S TDCI]

Like i said early i bought this car from UK and it is still registered there [this crooked witch seller says she lives in spain] so you don't have to pay any import taxes or any other fees.The car comes with log book, HPI cleared, No finance.When i will send you the car, you will receive all papers and documents who will help you to register the car, also i will make a legal contract and on this you will have my signature, and all you must to do is to complete only your name and details about you or i if you want i will complete the bill of sale with your name and address that you sent,this will help you to register car fast, in case you want to make any other papers after you receive the car you can email me and i will be more than glade to send it.

The shipper I will use will deliver the vehicle to your door, you don't have to pick it from the port. Shipping will take 10 days maximum. The car will be shipped in a container; it will be loaded direct into a 20 ft or 40 ft steel shipping container at the port and it will be secured to the flooring rings of the container by ratchet straps and the wheels will be locked into position by wooden chocks, strapping to stop any movement. All vehicles are securely blocked, braced and tied down ensuring absolute security during transportation.There will be no additional taxes or costs for you to pay.

Aol Money Representative physically inspects the vehicle, insures and holds the funds until you receive,test and agree to keep it so you don't have to worry about anything. if you still wanna buy my car i wait your shipping details so i can contact Aol Money regarding our deal. They will send you an invoice after with all the steps you need to know so you can buy my car.The payment will be managed by Aol Money and it will be done by BANK to BANK transfer.Your money will be safe with them.

I will be waiting for your reply as soon as possible.

Thanks

<END>


As far as a very quick check on the AOL website, Google etc tells me the monies holding facility/rep don't exist either. Quelle surprise.

Total and utter cobblers.

Am selecting some rather more realistic suggestions for her now.


Thanks all





bomma220

17,744 posts

154 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
As this is a blatant scam should it not be brought to the attention of the authorities? Presumably the BiB would be interested? cop

TheLordJohn

5,746 posts

175 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
bomma220 said:
Presumably the BiB would be interested? cop
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahaha.


Oh, you were being serious!?

TheLordJohn

5,746 posts

175 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
Crap iPad repost frown

Edited by TheLordJohn on Monday 24th February 07:00

bomma220

17,744 posts

154 months

Sunday 23rd February 2014
quotequote all
TheLordJohn said:
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahaha.


Oh, you were being serious!?
biglaugh Oh yes, there' always one !! biglaugh