Got a car up for sale - scam doing the rounds?
Got a car up for sale - scam doing the rounds?
Author
Discussion

Yell_M3

Original Poster:

389 posts

229 months

Wednesday 13th August 2014
quotequote all
My cars up for sale, got this obvious scam going. Hopefully noone stupid enough to do it, but heh just in case. Links to a fake site to try and crab you login / + address card details.

Email: cliveshaw@greatusedcars.uk.pn

Name:

Phone:

Message:
" Hi,
Is this your car?

Link: tny.de/ww-piston-heads-com-classified-used-cars-audi-used-autos-audi-2713936
(if the link does not work copy and paste it into a new tab window)

Can you please let me know what is the real price for it? I saw your add on Piston-heads but another seller has the same car up for sale at half your asking price.
Regards "

Bone_Head

22 posts

208 months

Wednesday 13th August 2014
quotequote all
Got the same email today for an Audi I'm selling. Looks like it's doing the rounds.

Skyedriver

23,409 posts

311 months

Wednesday 13th August 2014
quotequote all
Hmm, had one the other day asking the real price, signed cordially yours, Daniel.


J18NHS

1,064 posts

182 months

Wednesday 13th August 2014
quotequote all
That old chestnut,

CassieDC5

1 posts

145 months

Monday 18th August 2014
quotequote all
I've had exactly the same thing last week. From 'Melanie Parson' at this email address. Definite scammer as I did some research on the internet.

Sellers be very aware and cautious.

Sir Bagalot

7,095 posts

210 months

Monday 18th August 2014
quotequote all
I don't see what the problem is.

Tell them if they had seen a similar car for sale at half the price then they should go buy it as it's a fkING bargain!! laugh

va1o

16,114 posts

236 months

Monday 18th August 2014
quotequote all
I had this a couple of days ago:

" Hello,Am interested in your Car
kindly contact me, if its still Available
Greetings "

No name or number left only a disposable email so not replying.

Roo

11,504 posts

236 months

Monday 18th August 2014
quotequote all
You're all spoilt.

I had one today that just said 'Price PLZ'

toerag

758 posts

161 months

Monday 18th August 2014
quotequote all
lol tf?



Jasandjules

72,602 posts

258 months

Monday 18th August 2014
quotequote all
So reply and say "For you the price is double the current advertised price"....?!?!?

TheEnd

15,370 posts

217 months

Monday 18th August 2014
quotequote all
Well, for those of you who haven't figured it out, you get a bogus link to a pistonheads-like login, input your details, and then a scammer lists stuff under your name, makes drunken posts at the weekend, edits your for sale advert to say "email me at xxxxxxx" etc.

It's not your money they are after, it's the identity.

r11co

6,244 posts

259 months

Monday 18th August 2014
quotequote all
TheEnd said:
It's not your money they are after, it's the identity.
yes

A bit of 'social engineering' being used to get the info out of you required to then scam someone else. Fake login screen password stealers are as old as the hills.

TankRizzo

8,016 posts

222 months

Monday 18th August 2014
quotequote all
TheEnd said:
Well, for those of you who haven't figured it out, you get a bogus link to a pistonheads-like login, input your details, and then a scammer lists stuff under your name, makes drunken posts at the weekend, edits your for sale advert to say "email me at xxxxxxx" etc.

It's not your money they are after, it's the identity.
Does this explain Welshbeef?

surveyor

18,691 posts

213 months

Monday 18th August 2014
quotequote all
Had one by text last week purporting to be from autotrader saying that my add was being taken down unless I logged in.

Did not like the URL, but it was very nearly effective.