Is this a scam?
Author
Discussion

smiffy180

Original Poster:

6,029 posts

180 months

Wednesday 3rd September 2014
quotequote all
I'm normally quite good as spotting scams but this one has thrown me. The email address seems fishy but the person hasn't asked anything out of the extrordinary. Nothing comes up in google when using either email address or text.

Slims921@yandex.com

Any noticeable issues?
Is there anything that needs replacement in the near future?
I am interested. If possible, I'd like to see more photos. Or at least the auction photos in better resolution?
Thank you, Jane


MY REPLY-----

Thank you for your answer.
I am interested in buying the car, but to tell you the truth I am not very experienced in terms of mechanics and want to clear all doubts before any commitment.
I have contacted an inspection company, who sent me a specific inspection sheet for this type of vehicle. I want to have the checklist sent to you and get it answered prior to any commitment. It's a few minutes worth of effort which I'd appreciate.
I'm 250 miles away from your location. I intend to seal the deal in person, but before taking such a long trip I need to make sure that it suits my needs.
As soon as I get your OK I can forward the checklist and get things moving. 
Regards, Jane


TheEnd

15,370 posts

218 months

Wednesday 3rd September 2014
quotequote all
That fact you're both called Jane is unusual!

Could be scammy, but it should become clear in an email or two.

marshalla

15,902 posts

231 months

Wednesday 3rd September 2014
quotequote all
Have a look at Yandex.com's "about" page and then tell us what you think.

Edited by marshalla on Wednesday 3rd September 22:01

TREMAiNE

4,164 posts

179 months

Wednesday 3rd September 2014
quotequote all
I'd guess scam.

smiffy180

Original Poster:

6,029 posts

180 months

Wednesday 3rd September 2014
quotequote all
I'm going to reply to a few more emails and see what happens.

V8forweekends

2,501 posts

154 months

Wednesday 3rd September 2014
quotequote all
They want your home address. Not sure what for, but it ain't for buying your car, that's for sure.

Dammit

3,816 posts

238 months

Wednesday 3rd September 2014
quotequote all
+1 Sounds like identity theft, possibly a loan secured against your car?

smiffy180

Original Poster:

6,029 posts

180 months

Wednesday 3rd September 2014
quotequote all
Dammit said:
+1 Sounds like identity theft, possibly a loan secured against your car?
Hmmm depends how they send this "inspection sheet" then.......

rallycross

13,752 posts

267 months

Wednesday 3rd September 2014
quotequote all
Sounds fine to me I think you should send them all your personal info - your date of birth, credit card details and internet banking log in details then give them your car keys and house keys to look after.

Vaud

59,548 posts

185 months

Wednesday 3rd September 2014
quotequote all
Scam. Unusual use of English.

V8forweekends

2,501 posts

154 months

Wednesday 3rd September 2014
quotequote all
Vaud said:
Scam. Unusual use of English.
Agreed, but not just that - who in holy flip ever heard of sending you an inspection sheet from an "inspection company"? The Inspection Company won't be winning Dragon's Den using that business model.

smiffy180

Original Poster:

6,029 posts

180 months

Wednesday 3rd September 2014
quotequote all
V8forweekends said:
Vaud said:
Scam. Unusual use of English.
Agreed, but not just that - who in holy flip ever heard of sending you an inspection sheet from an "inspection company"? The Inspection Company won't be winning Dragon's Den using that business model.
That was the only thing that said scam tbh.
it was 8 hours between the first and second email, normally they reply very quick.

I'll just entertain the person then smile

ferrariF50lover

1,834 posts

256 months

Wednesday 3rd September 2014
quotequote all
She's 250 miles away, so you're either selling the automotive equivalent of rocking horse poo, or it's a scam.*

Simon.

  • says the bloke who once drove over 100 miles on New Year's Day for a silver Audi A3 TDi.

anonymous-user

84 months

Thursday 4th September 2014
quotequote all
Its just the way its written. Its definitely a scam

ch427

11,903 posts

263 months

Thursday 4th September 2014
quotequote all
Deffo a scam, ive had a similar one in the last few days. Starts off looking not too bad then a few more emails later you can tell for sure.
I gave mine the address of my local police station and they still didnt catch on!

Horse Pop

685 posts

174 months

Thursday 4th September 2014
quotequote all
Yandex is a russian site. It's basically the equivalent of Google.