Whats this guys game here?? Or is it scam?
Whats this guys game here?? Or is it scam?
Author
Discussion

SSC!

Original Poster:

1,849 posts

210 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
Hey folks,

Currently got my car up for sale on PH. I have done my research and it's the cheapest on here and Autotrader. Today this email arrives, the insulted side wanted to bash out an email but thinking about it I'm wondering is this a new type of scam as I could not find anything via searching his email to suggest legit.

Thoughts?


This email enquiry has been sent from gregsampson@usednewcars.uk.pn and all replies should be sent to this address.
Someone has sent you a message:
Email: gregsampson@usednewcars.uk.pn
Name:
Phone:
Message:
" Hi,
Is this your car?

Link: tny.de/ww-piston-heads-com-classified-used-cars-volkswagen-used-autos-volkswagen-2623688
(if the link does not work copy and paste it into a new tab window)

Can you please let me know what is the real price for it? I saw your add on Piston-heads but another seller has the same car up for sale at half your asking price.
Regards "

Devil2575

13,400 posts

218 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
Is someone using your pictures in another advert?

SSC!

Original Poster:

1,849 posts

210 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
Not found anything, not many of these cars about. I did think perhaps the guy maybe saw a bog standard yellow one, but if he did then why email me?

backwoodsman

2,508 posts

159 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
It's a well known scam, AVOID AVOID AVOID.

This is the second thread, about the same scam, in about 6 weeks.

Edit, found the other thread.

http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?h=0&a...

mybrainhurts

90,809 posts

285 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
SSC! said:
Thoughts?
Do you really need to ask?

SSC!

Original Poster:

1,849 posts

210 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
backwoodsman said:
It's a well known scam, AVOID AVOID AVOID.

This is the second thread, about the same scam, in about 6 weeks.

Edit, found the other thread.

http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?h=0&a...
Thank you SSOOO much backwoodsman. I was trawling the net for pics of my motor. Thank the lord my temper did not get the better of me to reply laugh

Ave

TheEnd

15,370 posts

218 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
It's a scam. It's always a scam.

SSC!

Original Poster:

1,849 posts

210 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
mybrainhurts said:
SSC! said:
Thoughts?
Do you really need to ask?
?? That men can think or if it was a scam. laugh

I find PH the fountain of all knowledge so needed to have it confirmed by the dectives first before I stupidly emailed in anger. wink

D_T_W

2,502 posts

245 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
SSC! said:
?? That men can think or if it was a scam. laugh
Oi!!!!!! irked

SSC!

Original Poster:

1,849 posts

210 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
D_T_W said:
SSC! said:
?? That men can think or if it was a scam. laugh
Oi!!!!!! irked
Haha, sod off you. I know the part that does your thinking for ya. tongue out

backwoodsman

2,508 posts

159 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
SSC! said:
Thank you SSOOO much backwoodsman. I was trawling the net for pics of my motor. Thank the lord my temper did not get the better of me to reply laugh

Ave
No problem.

Just don't waste any more time on it.

Devil2575

13,400 posts

218 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
Is someone using your pictures in another advert?

Mark-C

7,648 posts

235 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
.pn = Pitcairn Islands

Now if Greg was really there he probably wouldn't be looking for a car in the UK ...

backwoodsman

2,508 posts

159 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
Devil2575 said:
Is someone using your pictures in another advert?
Read the other thread, that I put a link too.

They want your pistonheads log in details.

ninjacost

980 posts

252 months

Wednesday 10th September 2014
quotequote all
anyone had an email off a guy called Quentin? regarding a car purchase ? no not the bloke who looks like Dracula before anyone mentions it ;-)