Facebook trickery
Author
Discussion

surveyor

Original Poster:

18,705 posts

214 months

Friday 11th November 2016
quotequote all
An interesting scenario. Not a problem this time, but it's something I need to get a grip on.

Finished a 1,700 mile work week. Posted a picture of the road that I'm about to head down to go home together with mission accomplished.

The 'like's include a couple of people from my client firm. That's fine. as they are on my friends list, and I therefore know that they can see. A third person from my client has now liked my picture. He is not on my friends list.

The picture will be set to public I imagine. What surprised me is that presumably this has popped up on third chaps feed, even if he is not my friend. He is probably FB friends with his other two colleagues. Not sure I likey.

randlemarcus

13,646 posts

261 months

Friday 11th November 2016
quotequote all
You need to revisit your privacy settings, and make sure that friends mean friends. Not friends of friends, or random strangers of friends smile

surveyor

Original Poster:

18,705 posts

214 months

Friday 11th November 2016
quotequote all
I don't mind, other than I would prefer to have been made aware....

Oakey

27,984 posts

246 months

Friday 11th November 2016
quotequote all
Maybe one of your friends shared it?

MG CHRIS

9,322 posts

197 months

Friday 11th November 2016
quotequote all
Facebook has always been like that up to you to set your privacy settings. Just don't go on youtube and type in anything to do with facebook will make you not want to be a user that's for sure.

Sheepshanks

41,232 posts

149 months

Friday 11th November 2016
quotequote all
surveyor said:
Not sure I likey.
You should probably stop using Facebook then. And LinkedIn. Etc. They're very clever at making sometimes surprising connections.

surveyor

Original Poster:

18,705 posts

214 months

Friday 11th November 2016
quotequote all
Oakey said:
Maybe one of your friends shared it?
It was not that interesting to be honest. It meant some to me, and to my family. The client knows what I've been up to this week, but I'd be very surprised if either of them bothered to share it.

Pothole

34,367 posts

312 months

Friday 11th November 2016
quotequote all
surveyor said:
I don't mind, other than I would prefer to have been made aware....
Erm, you were...by the "like".

Blown2CV

31,660 posts

233 months

Monday 14th November 2016
quotequote all
it's not trickery, you are just ignorant of the way social media works. Your picture is visible by default to 'friends of friends', which I am sure you can gather is probably quite a large group of people. the ones who are not your friends will see it appear if a mutual friend of yours interacts with it. You can of course post things that are only visible to friends... but you need to change the setting.

The friends of friends thing is the thing that fks most people over who get caught out by their employer doing something inadvisable, or bhing about someone behind their back etc. Even if you're not friends with people that might dob you in, can you guarantee that ALL of your friends also aren't? hard to be sure.

surveyor

Original Poster:

18,705 posts

214 months

Monday 14th November 2016
quotequote all
Better to not post stuff that will get oneself into trouble....

Goaty Bill 2

3,595 posts

149 months

Tuesday 15th November 2016
quotequote all
surveyor said:
Better to not post stuff that will get oneself into trouble....
idea
Much like PH really.

Posting is free.
Repercussions are priced separately.

FB, Linkedin etc. are, in general, designed to share as widely as possible.
When your client colleagues 'liked' your post, it was possible that anyone they interact with would see it.
By the same token, they use algorithms that may also not share with many of your first level contacts.
I have seen this proven and explained on Linkedin a number of times.
'Likes' on the other hand seem to tunnel through to everyone.


Shakermaker

11,317 posts

130 months

Tuesday 15th November 2016
quotequote all
If you look at your post, on a mobile device or desktop, you should have a little icon next to it which shows either a globe, or two silhouettes. The globe means it is set to public, the silhouettes mean private.

There also ought to be a little drop down triangle on the right hand side, and you can from that point choose the privacy level for that individual post as well - some people have posts that are both.

but then yes, go into your settings and its quite easy to change it to "Friends only"