Chrome Auto Complete - Someone else's details
Discussion
Hi All
My Chrome auto complete for usernames and passwords often has someone else's details in. This person used to work for me but I have deleted their email account (from our google gmail business account) a long time ago. I sometimes get their husbands details come up too. It happened yesterday and I selected her email (from her new company!) and the password auto completed too. It logged me on to Rightmove as them and I could see saved properties and also read their password as unecrpyted text.
Obviously it's a worry that she could log on as me or read my passwords too. My own account details have changed a few times since she used to work for me and gmail states I am not logged anywhere else.
I'm wondering if she used her personal email as a backup and some point and for some reason Google has tied us together.
Any ideas from anyone? I can't see a way to progress with Google.
My Chrome auto complete for usernames and passwords often has someone else's details in. This person used to work for me but I have deleted their email account (from our google gmail business account) a long time ago. I sometimes get their husbands details come up too. It happened yesterday and I selected her email (from her new company!) and the password auto completed too. It logged me on to Rightmove as them and I could see saved properties and also read their password as unecrpyted text.
Obviously it's a worry that she could log on as me or read my passwords too. My own account details have changed a few times since she used to work for me and gmail states I am not logged anywhere else.
I'm wondering if she used her personal email as a backup and some point and for some reason Google has tied us together.
Any ideas from anyone? I can't see a way to progress with Google.
Have you gone through the Privacy settings found under "manage your google account" under settings? It should allow you to foce-quit any active sessions, thereby automatically logging them out. Then change your google password so they can't log back in.
ETA you should also be able to edit/delete the info under the Auto Complete heading in settings too.
ETA you should also be able to edit/delete the info under the Auto Complete heading in settings too.
Does this just appear on one computer?
I think all that has happened is that they used your computer to logon. You can go into setting and remove autocomplete entries.
Sticking my tin foil hat on, if they used your browser, in theory they could go to setting and look to see what autocomplete had stored about your logins.
Odds are it has just remembered their details from when they used it. But treat this as a warning to not let people leave themselves logged in and share devices.
One day this will bite you in the arse big time, especially with a disgruntled employee. How would you cope losing access to your email.
I think all that has happened is that they used your computer to logon. You can go into setting and remove autocomplete entries.
Sticking my tin foil hat on, if they used your browser, in theory they could go to setting and look to see what autocomplete had stored about your logins.
Odds are it has just remembered their details from when they used it. But treat this as a warning to not let people leave themselves logged in and share devices.
One day this will bite you in the arse big time, especially with a disgruntled employee. How would you cope losing access to your email.
This isn't due to them using my computer - it's definitely at account level. I'm getting account details which are since they left my company.
I'll have another trawl through the account settings but when I checked again this afternoon it said I had two devices logged in - my phone and my computer.
It's very strange!!
I'll have another trawl through the account settings but when I checked again this afternoon it said I had two devices logged in - my phone and my computer.
It's very strange!!
maybe their google account got linked to yours and has merged all the pre-fill data?
its quite easy to do if there are two accounts set up on one machine (ie, the old one not deleted properly and then you signing in on the new one)
poor show on your employer though - could this be considered a data breach ?
its quite easy to do if there are two accounts set up on one machine (ie, the old one not deleted properly and then you signing in on the new one)
poor show on your employer though - could this be considered a data breach ?
PixelpeepS3 said:
maybe their google account got linked to yours and has merged all the pre-fill data?
its quite easy to do if there are two accounts set up on one machine (ie, the old one not deleted properly and then you signing in on the new one)
poor show on your employer though - could this be considered a data breach ?
I am the employer! Any way to check this?its quite easy to do if there are two accounts set up on one machine (ie, the old one not deleted properly and then you signing in on the new one)
poor show on your employer though - could this be considered a data breach ?
At any point would she have used any machine, PC, laptop or tablet that you were logged onto?
Some businesses think nothing of sharing devices in the office. You know like printer PCs that no one wants to be logging in and out of all day, so they leave it logged in under one account.
She wouldn't need to have logged into another device using your details for them to appear in your stored info
I've never heard of two completely separate gmail accounts mixing up secure private info.
Some businesses think nothing of sharing devices in the office. You know like printer PCs that no one wants to be logging in and out of all day, so they leave it logged in under one account.
She wouldn't need to have logged into another device using your details for them to appear in your stored info
I've never heard of two completely separate gmail accounts mixing up secure private info.
The_Jackal said:
At any point would she have used any machine, PC, laptop or tablet that you were logged onto?
Some businesses think nothing of sharing devices in the office. You know like printer PCs that no one wants to be logging in and out of all day, so they leave it logged in under one account.
She wouldn't need to have logged into another device using your details for them to appear in your stored info
I've never heard of two completely separate gmail accounts mixing up secure private info.
I think at some point they have logged onto one of my machines and it has dragged all their passwords into my account. I've deleted them now and hopefully they won't come back!Some businesses think nothing of sharing devices in the office. You know like printer PCs that no one wants to be logging in and out of all day, so they leave it logged in under one account.
She wouldn't need to have logged into another device using your details for them to appear in your stored info
I've never heard of two completely separate gmail accounts mixing up secure private info.
when you delete a gsuite account you get an option to transfer the data to another user.
I've not looked into how shared passwords are handled but it is meant to include all data so should be included somehow.
If you did not suspend her account as soon as she left possible she was still logged in on a personal device when she started her new job and stored her new account.
I've not looked into how shared passwords are handled but it is meant to include all data so should be included somehow.
If you did not suspend her account as soon as she left possible she was still logged in on a personal device when she started her new job and stored her new account.
ging84 said:
when you delete a gsuite account you get an option to transfer the data to another user.
I've not looked into how shared passwords are handled but it is meant to include all data so should be included somehow.
If you did not suspend her account as soon as she left possible she was still logged in on a personal device when she started her new job and stored her new account.
That's a very good point. I would of done that when closing the account and would make the most sense. I think you've nailed it - thank you for putting my mind at rest. I've not looked into how shared passwords are handled but it is meant to include all data so should be included somehow.
If you did not suspend her account as soon as she left possible she was still logged in on a personal device when she started her new job and stored her new account.
Gassing Station | Computers, Gadgets & Stuff | Top of Page | What's New | My Stuff


