This site IS just a scam portal, right?
This site IS just a scam portal, right?
Author
Discussion

Shuvi McTupya

Original Poster:

24,460 posts

277 months

Sunday 29th September 2019
quotequote all
No, not PH..this one:

https://princessgalaxyshop.com/

The huge metal R/C tank is being advertised on FB and I dont even believe they would be selling it for the full advertised price, let alone the farcically low sale price (which also includes delivery and the tank weighs 60kg..)

If i thought this was legit i would buy all their stock smile

Video of the tank. surely something like this would be a few thousand pounds?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rh1VXLMoUtk




Edited by Shuvi McTupya on Sunday 29th September 22:16

DanielSan

20,009 posts

197 months

Sunday 29th September 2019
quotequote all
Buy it on your credit card and if it doesn't then up claim it back?

Mort7

1,489 posts

138 months

Sunday 29th September 2019
quotequote all
DanielSan said:
Buy it on your credit card and if it doesn't then up claim it back?
Credit card protection only kicks in at £100 IIRC.

Shuvi McTupya

Original Poster:

24,460 posts

277 months

Sunday 29th September 2019
quotequote all
Mort7 said:
Credit card protection only kicks in at £100 IIRC.
I assume that two purchases at the same time that added up to over £100 would qualify ?

dudleybloke

20,553 posts

216 months

Sunday 29th September 2019
quotequote all
It's a suspiciously new website.


Domain Name: PRINCESSGALAXYSHOP.COM
Registry Domain ID: 2430745314_DOMAIN_COM-VRSN
Registrar WHOIS Server: whois.namecheap.com
Registrar URL: http://www.namecheap.com
Updated Date: 2019-09-07T02:54:31Z
Creation Date: 2019-09-07T02:54:28Z
Registry Expiry Date: 2020-09-07T02:54:28Z
Registrar: NameCheap, Inc.
Registrar IANA ID: 1068
Registrar Abuse Contact Email: abuse@namecheap.com
Registrar Abuse Contact Phone: +1.6613102107

Shuvi McTupya

Original Poster:

24,460 posts

277 months

Sunday 29th September 2019
quotequote all
Definitely whiffs smile

Wiccan of Darkness

1,916 posts

113 months

Sunday 29th September 2019
quotequote all
Piqued my interest,

First of all, when you said 60kg tank I had images of a new hot water tank or something to fill with diesel. Looks ace.

Website is in chinglish and full of grammatical errors. Also says they ship from all over the world, and they pay import duties - which they can't know until you place the order. Notwithstanding the fact import duties are charged after the item arrives through customs.

If items are dispatched from the US, then customs fees are applied upon entry to the UK.

Whole thing stinks.

So I googled the site name for reviews

And yes, it's a scam. Not a sophisticated one either, they simply don't send the stuff out and hope credit card companies cough up the shortfall, or people are too lazy to do anything.

Everything is rated 5 stars. No actual postal address or registered company office. Refund and return policy is hilarious.

This is a good spot, all in all I'd hope other PH'ers can show this website to their kids as a prime example of a scam site. Timely, too, I dipped in today and found a resurrected thread about things to teach your kids.

This website is deffo one for that list. Things to look out for on a fake website. Primarily, my alarm bells started ringing when I couldn't find a registered address.

Oh and while I've been typing this out, I've been busy googling. Princessgalaxyshop (no spaces) brings this thread at the top with the word 'scam'. There's nothing else on google, which is odd. Unless it's a scam.

Have a scoot around the site, lets see what other howlers there are. I'm finding loads.

Shuvi McTupya

Original Poster:

24,460 posts

277 months

Sunday 29th September 2019
quotequote all
Good work!

The reviews do not inspire a great deal of promise hehe

Shuvi McTupya

Original Poster:

24,460 posts

277 months

Sunday 29th September 2019
quotequote all
FaceBook have been hosting a load of scam company adverts as of late.
I am seeing a lot of very cheap TV's , all using the 'shopify' domain..