Think I've messed up using a backup.
Discussion
I am slowly transferring from a W7 to W10 PC.
Perhaps naively, I thought that if I put the backup drive into the W10 machine it would allow me to upload the files from my old PC to the new.
Indeed it appeared to offer me that option.
However, what has actually happened is that I seem to have the backup (125GB) copied on the new machine, but only a handful of random files have saved as usable files.
Have I just used up a load of disc space with a backup I don't need? Or is there a way forward here?
I just want the files from the old PC on my new one.
TIA
Mr Pointy said:
Is the Win 7 PC still working? If it is open a Dropbox account, move the files you want into the Dropbox folder, open Dropbox on the Win 10 PC & it will sync the files across.
It even does it over the local network rather than go via the internet/WAN.
Thanks for this.It even does it over the local network rather than go via the internet/WAN.
The backup that I now have on my new PC is 124GB. Should I factory reset the machine and start again? I obviously don't want that much space taken up unnecessarily.
Guys
I've got the backup folder on my new machine and I want it gone because it is taking up a lot of disc space.
I COULD do a factory reset, but is there another way of removing it entirely such that it doesn't compromise my machine through having a big and useless folder on it?
Many thanks.
Baldchap said:
If you know where it is, simply delete it. Select it, hold shift and press the delete key and it'll bypass the recycle bin, though at that size I think it would anyway.
I thought, perhaps incorrectly, that doing that doesn't get rid of it. It just ceases to be indexed.You could follow the procedure in this link if you really "need to" : https://www.techadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/how-s...
So said:
Baldchap said:
If you know where it is, simply delete it. Select it, hold shift and press the delete key and it'll bypass the recycle bin, though at that size I think it would anyway.
I thought, perhaps incorrectly, that doing that doesn't get rid of it. It just ceases to be indexed.Baldchap said:
So said:
Baldchap said:
If you know where it is, simply delete it. Select it, hold shift and press the delete key and it'll bypass the recycle bin, though at that size I think it would anyway.
I thought, perhaps incorrectly, that doing that doesn't get rid of it. It just ceases to be indexed.Gassing Station | Computers, Gadgets & Stuff | Top of Page | What's New | My Stuff


