Has Google Photos changed the save option?
Has Google Photos changed the save option?
Author
Discussion

Kes Arevo

Original Poster:

3,555 posts

69 months

Sunday 19th September 2021
quotequote all
Normally, when editing in Google photos, you get 2 save options...

Save
Save as copy

It isn't giving me the save option anymore, instead putting the new copy in another folder.

How do I go back to the 2 options, and bin off this new folder thing? It's annoying.

No 'save' option.


New folder thingy?


I'm confused, and can't find anything on the goggle.

The_Jackal

4,854 posts

227 months

Monday 20th September 2021
quotequote all
You cant change it, its what google decided.
I wish they would just stick with stuff that works.

Corso Marche

1,901 posts

231 months

Tuesday 21st September 2021
quotequote all
Agreed, from a user experience it's a step backwards, and involves the user taking extra management steps re. storage.
There's also differences in how it behaves on Pixel devices versus non-Pixel devices, confusing things further (I've both).

Kes Arevo

Original Poster:

3,555 posts

69 months

Tuesday 21st September 2021
quotequote all
Corso Marche said:
Agreed, from a user experience it's a step backwards, and involves the user taking extra management steps re. storage.
There's also differences in how it behaves on Pixel devices versus non-Pixel devices, confusing things further (I've both).
Ah, yes it seems to be storage. Photos were set to use the external storage, rather than internal, so it has decided to do this. Swapping back to internal sorts it.

It's a stupid addition to it.

Corso Marche

1,901 posts

231 months

Tuesday 21st September 2021
quotequote all
You can see how it gives more granular control of storage to users, but that's of no use whatsoever when the changes weren't notified or explained 'in-app' to users -- all the changes did was cause confusion and frustration. So yeah, it was handled very poorly.