Exchange 2003 public folder replication
Exchange 2003 public folder replication
Author
Discussion

225

Original Poster:

1,331 posts

256 months

Wednesday 22nd February 2006
quotequote all
We have a problem at present where we started replicating all our public folders to a new server, this caused huge amounts of replication traffic so we had to stop it half way through.
We need to delete the public folder store from the new server and start again only replicating a few folders at a time. However I am paranoid about how to remove a replica from one server only.
As replication is currently disabled I don't want to be in the position where if I delete all the replicas from the new server, start the replication Exchange then deletes the original folders!
The public folder referrals are set to custom and the original server has a cost of 1 while the new server has a cost of 100 plus all mailboxes are on the original server so no users should be going to the new servers public folders.

If I go through ESM and remove all the instances of the new server from the replica list in the public folder list and start replication again, I have a horrible feeling there will be a massive message surge with backfill requests etc and we'll be in the same boat again.

Any help would be appreciated as its a bit of a mess at present and we need to start all over!

Thanks

maddog-uk

2,392 posts

276 months

Wednesday 22nd February 2006
quotequote all
Couple of questions. What version of exchange and what are you network links between the servers?

aldi

9,288 posts

267 months

Wednesday 22nd February 2006
quotequote all
If you're expecting the initial surge to die off once all the replicas are complete, how about just kicking it off on a friday night?

225

Original Poster:

1,331 posts

256 months

Wednesday 22nd February 2006
quotequote all
Its all exchange 2k3 sp1 and sp2 in the same routing group sat next to each other on a gig LAN.
There are so many public folders its daft and if I kick off replication again the amount of back fill messages etc will just mean too much processing for the old server to deal with.

I cant find a definative answer anywhere that tells me, that if I modify the servers on the replicas tab of each of the public folders so that it only has the original server and then start replication again that we wont be in undated with conflic messages etc.
I really need to delete the replicas from the new server but again can't get a definitive method for doing this which will not effect the origonal server.

Ideally I want to just start again a few folders at a time, but obviously I need to start replication again.