just a quickie
Author
Discussion

crackthatoff

Original Poster:

3,314 posts

243 months

Sunday 29th June 2008
quotequote all
I'm just starting to play with photoshop, once I have an image opened how do I open another image to put on top of it?

cheers noel

Zad

13,020 posts

266 months

Sunday 29th June 2008
quotequote all
Open both files, highlight the window you want to use the image from. Bottom right i Photoshop you should see a window with some tabs in, one of which reads 'Layers', select that tab. Below it you should see a layer entitled 'Background'. Click on that and drag it over the window you want to paste in. Let go.

Alternatively, select the whole of the image (Ctrl+A or Filter->Select All), copy it (Ctrl+C or Edit->Copy), select the destination window and Paste (Ctrl+V or Edit->Paste).

crackthatoff

Original Poster:

3,314 posts

243 months

Monday 30th June 2008
quotequote all
thanks v mutch thumbup

crackthatoff

Original Poster:

3,314 posts

243 months

Monday 30th June 2008
quotequote all
grrr this is hard, so I have a pic of the wonkey donkey [pic][/pic]

and I wanted to draw round it so that the desk etc isn't there and put it it on this


[pic][/pic]

I understand how you put the pic on top of the other one and I can crop the donkey to a square shape.

obviously I'm not going to have a go at this months photoshop comp but I'd like to have a play so that I can have a go in a few weeks time

thanks again !



Zad

13,020 posts

266 months

Monday 30th June 2008
quotequote all
You use the Lasso tool (press L to toggle between the 'smooth' lasso and polygonal lasso) to outline the object you want, then copy/paste as before.

If you don't get exactly the outline you want first time, hold the shift key down when using lasso to add to your selection, or hold alt down to subtract from it.

smile

crackthatoff

Original Poster:

3,314 posts

243 months

Monday 30th June 2008
quotequote all
last one I promise, sorted that, now when I try to put it on photobucket it dissapears when I look for it in my files, I dont think it likes photoshop or something

Jenx

11,579 posts

272 months

Monday 30th June 2008
quotequote all
When you're happy with you're image save it to "My Pictures", then upload it to Photobucket from there and delete it (if you want) afterwards.

I'm sure some smart4rse will be along with a more geeky method but at least this one works biggrin

Zad

13,020 posts

266 months

Monday 30th June 2008
quotequote all
Use "Save for Web" or "Save as" then .jpg, and put it in a folder that you can remember, maybe in My Documents, My Pictures, or create one just for your Photoshop saves.

If you don't ask, you don't learn smile

crackthatoff

Original Poster:

3,314 posts

243 months

Monday 30th June 2008
quotequote all
yay !!! thumbup [pic][/pic]

JB Rugby

4,217 posts

245 months

Monday 30th June 2008
quotequote all
crackthatoff said:
yay !!! thumbup [pic][/pic]
Actually, if you allow me to hijack your thread, once you've done the above, is there an easy wa to smooth the lines around the integrated subject? Make it look like it belong more.

Cheers

JB

Simpo Two

92,946 posts

295 months

Monday 30th June 2008
quotequote all
While you're getting to grips with PS, now is a good time to learn about image resizing/compression. Image > Image Size etc. Terrabit links aside, if you let PH crush your images to 758px they'll go jaggy - much nicer to do it yourself and resharpen properly.

VxDuncan

2,850 posts

264 months

Monday 30th June 2008
quotequote all
JB Rugby said:
crackthatoff said:
yay !!! thumbup [pic][/pic]
Actually, if you allow me to hijack your thread, once you've done the above, is there an easy wa to smooth the lines around the integrated subject? Make it look like it belong more.

Cheers

JB
When you had the area selected - use select-> feather selction (select menu), and enter a number of pixels to soften the selection by, would use 1px in this application, then cut the donkey out/delete the background/mask.

LaSarthe+Back

2,084 posts

243 months

Monday 30th June 2008
quotequote all
Also, use the magnetic lasso tool to go around the edges of the object. Much better than doing it manually and has worked every time I tried it!

flat-planedCrank

3,697 posts

233 months

Tuesday 1st July 2008
quotequote all
For an object with a solid outline like that you will get a much smoother selection if you use paths rather than 'freehand' selection tools like lasso.

(You can still feather the selection afterwards if you want to)



Cheers.