"Remember me" tick box
Author
Discussion

Kermit power

Original Poster:

29,622 posts

242 months

Thursday 26th March 2009
quotequote all
Any chance this could be set to not remember someone as the default choice?

At the moment, it's set to automatically remember you unless you tell it not to, which is a minor annoyance when logging in fairly frequently from public computers.

Mr Will

13,719 posts

235 months

Thursday 26th March 2009
quotequote all
Most people using the site access it regularly from the same computer, therefore having it ticked makes sense for them.

It doesn't matter if you leave it ticked when you log in as long as you click 'log out' when you are done.

The other thing to bear in mind is that it is only an issue if you share your PC user account with other people. If you have your own user account on the computers which you need to log in to access windows then ticking 'remember me' will not affect other peoples user accounts and they will not be logged in as you.

You will also be logged out when the cookies are cleared (something which happens regularly on most public computers) or after 90 days, although I appreciate the latter is not much use in this case.


Kermit power

Original Poster:

29,622 posts

242 months

Friday 27th March 2009
quotequote all
I log on from one of my own computers a lot of the time too, but I only have to tick the "remember me" box once (or once every 90 days from your response).

It's generally either at the gym or in airport lounges that I log in from public computers, and they don't give me the option of having my own account. Not a major issue, but I then have to remember to untick the box every time, rather than just remembering to tick it once in a while.