I have joined the PurelyPorsche club !!!!!!!!!!!!
Discussion
It's ok I am not going over to the other side
, but have just opened up my hot mail account
and found a email/news letter from them, it would appear somebody (admittedly with a sense of humour )
has subscribed me to this club, as I am not interested in reading about big engine failures+costs or medallions it went straight in the junk mail, but I have to say it made me laugh, that on a miserable day up north has to be a good thing.
Phil
, but have just opened up my hot mail accountand found a email/news letter from them, it would appear somebody (admittedly with a sense of humour )
has subscribed me to this club, as I am not interested in reading about big engine failures+costs or medallions it went straight in the junk mail, but I have to say it made me laugh, that on a miserable day up north has to be a good thing.
Phil
touching cloth said:
Odd, I had one too
Clearly someone has been selling mailing lists?
At first I thought that, but what point would a TVR based mailing list be to a porsche club ?
Clearly someone has been selling mailing lists?its not like we are going to buy anything, so no gain in it, just somebody having a joke I think, thinks back did we ever annoy any porsche drivers on pistonheads
I cant remember doing anything like that, but my memory is not what it was. 
You must be members of RoadMagazine, they have sold your data or allowed 3rd party access without your consent, if it's the former they've broken the DPA by selling your (consumer) data to a third part without your consent & 'Porsche' have broken the DPA by mailing consumers without consent, if it's the latter, they've (Rmag) broken a law where the sender must be clearly identified (PECR 23(a)).
Hold on, I'll check...
I've just taken a look at the 'headers' and it was sent from a company called smartfocusdigital.net who seem to do email marketing (as I do – www.wizemail.co.uk ) having added DomainKeys (techie stuff) for wikiporsche.net - so it seems our data has been sold to a third party.
IIRC a maximum fine of £5k per recipient.
Argh... looking at the IP address of the sender (172.20.232.3) they (RoadMag and/or 'Porsche' also sent all of our data outside the EEA (Europe) to a US provider without our consent – this is one of the most serious breaches of the DPA.
That's the legal stuff out of the way, I saw the car content and thought Haymarket had sold my data, glad I checked it now.
I wish the RoadMag guys luck as they’re relatively new and creating some decent content by all accounts, but if they want to know how to do it right without breaking the law, they should get in touch.
Received: (qmail 11176 invoked by uid 110); 21 Oct 2009 18:16:10 +0100
Received: from as02.site2.smartfocusdigital.net (172.20.232.3) by mail232-21.send.smartfocusdigital.net (PowerMTA(TM) v3.5r6) id hrt0tk0icps5 for <roadmagazine@wizemail.co.uk>; Wed, 21 Oct 2009 17:15:35 +0000 (envelope-from <newsletter@wikiporsche.net>)
Hold on, I'll check...
I've just taken a look at the 'headers' and it was sent from a company called smartfocusdigital.net who seem to do email marketing (as I do – www.wizemail.co.uk ) having added DomainKeys (techie stuff) for wikiporsche.net - so it seems our data has been sold to a third party.
IIRC a maximum fine of £5k per recipient.
Argh... looking at the IP address of the sender (172.20.232.3) they (RoadMag and/or 'Porsche' also sent all of our data outside the EEA (Europe) to a US provider without our consent – this is one of the most serious breaches of the DPA.
That's the legal stuff out of the way, I saw the car content and thought Haymarket had sold my data, glad I checked it now.
I wish the RoadMag guys luck as they’re relatively new and creating some decent content by all accounts, but if they want to know how to do it right without breaking the law, they should get in touch.
Received: (qmail 11176 invoked by uid 110); 21 Oct 2009 18:16:10 +0100
Received: from as02.site2.smartfocusdigital.net (172.20.232.3) by mail232-21.send.smartfocusdigital.net (PowerMTA(TM) v3.5r6) id hrt0tk0icps5 for <roadmagazine@wizemail.co.uk>; Wed, 21 Oct 2009 17:15:35 +0000 (envelope-from <newsletter@wikiporsche.net>)
I'd forgotten too, but when I sign-up to anything I give it a unique COMPANY@ address so I can track who's mailing me and where they got my info.
Although they've been naughty, I'd be more inclined to click the unsubscribe link at the bottom if you don't want any more emails from them - rather than getting a bunch of fellow petrol heads in the proverbial who probably weren't aware of the law.
I'm sure this thread will be brought to their attention and they'll not do it again.
Although they've been naughty, I'd be more inclined to click the unsubscribe link at the bottom if you don't want any more emails from them - rather than getting a bunch of fellow petrol heads in the proverbial who probably weren't aware of the law.
I'm sure this thread will be brought to their attention and they'll not do it again.
Just trash it. Life's too short to get het up over someone spamming you by email. It'll never stop........
I once had a customer call and complain at me for 5 minutes because he received one marketing email from us. I duly removed him from the database, but couldn't help but think he'd live a lot longer if he didn't stress about stuff like that!
I once had a customer call and complain at me for 5 minutes because he received one marketing email from us. I duly removed him from the database, but couldn't help but think he'd live a lot longer if he didn't stress about stuff like that!
DonnyMac said:
Although they've been naughty, I'd be more inclined to click the unsubscribe link at the bottom if you don't want any more emails from them - rather than getting a bunch of fellow petrol heads in the proverbial who probably weren't aware of the law.
That's exactly what they're banking on you doing. Taking the piss- despite knowledge of the law- and hoping you'll continue to grant them licence due to some mis-placed sense of allegiance. Stuff like this is exactly how they make their money. And, it's a LOT of money. Money that curiously won't find it's way to the magazines contributors, despite them also being 'petrol-heads'.Oh, yes. Sorry. I should probably state now, I have bias. And a lot of unpaid bills. Despite being a fellow petrol head. Best to be clear about this now, I think. I wouldn't want anyone thinking I didn't like them for the total lack of enjoyment their magazine grants, either in its utterly worthless content or its instantly unusable format. Though, in fairness, that doesn't help, either. Still, the latter does save you the time of enduring the former, I suppose.
This is all in my humble opinion of course. I wouldnt want anything I say here to in any way influence anyone else, or indeed any legal action that I have in process.
donnymac said:
I'm sure this thread will be brought to their attention and they'll not do it again.
I'd be very surprised if they didn't do it again. Even though they know you're petrol-heads. I know. It's almost like they dont give a f
k, isnt it? Shocking. Personally, I'd be inclined to think 'I'm getting spam and nothing worthwhile to read? I think I might just unsubscribe from this', but that's just me. I couldnt possibly comment on what you should do.
Of course, I could tell you what nearly everyone who originally signed up has done, but I won't. After all, were all fellow petrol heads here.
Gassing Station | General TVR Stuff & Gossip | Top of Page | What's New | My Stuff









didn't even know i'm registered with RoadMagazine !!