Science Fiction

Science Fiction

Author
Discussion

DibblyDobbler

10,752 posts

165 months

Friday 7th December 2012
quotequote all
StuH said:
However, my all-time favourite sic-fi novel(s) is Hyperion/Endymion by Dan Simmons - simply mind-blowing. Tough at the start but well worth sticking with - http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Hyperion-Omnibus-Fall-...
Another vote for Simmons here - the Hyperion books are epic. Great stories and far future tech geek appeal thumbup

tertius

6,121 posts

198 months

Friday 7th December 2012
quotequote all
arfur said:
Evan Currie can be a good read, as can Elizabeth Moon.

My Kindle list is over 100 books from the Kindle store now, mainly Sci-Fi/High Tech.
Ha, missed this - I really enjoyed On Silver Wings not especially deep, but it's like the author thought, "Right, I'm going to include every cool bit of military tech I've ever wanted and put it in this ONE book."

davepoth

29,395 posts

167 months

Friday 7th December 2012
quotequote all
I'd go with pretty much anything J.G. Ballard wrote - quite a lot of it involves dystopian near futures, but some of it is pretty mental. A bit of it is utterly mental.

toon tvr

348 posts

191 months

Saturday 8th December 2012
quotequote all
Mentioned before Nights Dawn Trilogy by Peter F Hamilton starting with this one:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Reality-Dysfunction-Nights...

Baron Greenback

5,416 posts

118 months

Saturday 8th December 2012
quotequote all
toon tvr said:
Mentioned before Nights Dawn Trilogy by Peter F Hamilton starting with this one:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Reality-Dysfunction-Nights...
Great series! Reading his latest box Great North Road very good so far!

Marf

22,907 posts

209 months

Saturday 8th December 2012
quotequote all
chunkymonkey71 said:
Really liked "Communion" by Whitley Streiber
There's a sequel to Communion

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/656939.Transfor...


HorneyMX5

4,905 posts

118 months

Thursday 14th February 2013
quotequote all
Thre pages an no mention of Asimov? Poor form!

Foundation series of novels are about the best SciFi I've ever read.

nick

havoc

26,114 posts

203 months

Saturday 16th February 2013
quotequote all
Not a fan of Baxter - too heavy going without really DOING anything (qf. Kim Stanley Robinson's Mars trilogy - one of my favourite series ever, a must read! Or even Peter F Hamiltons opuses (opii?) - long and occasionally long-winded but beautifully crafted).

Outside of the classics (Niven and Bester, for starters, but just go through the whole "Sci Fi Masterworks" series), I can recommend:-
- Dan Simmonds, as above - Hyperion is a superb piece of work, and Ilium/Olympos are a rather unusual view of Greco-Roman mythology.
- Charles Stross for lighter (& light-hearted) geeky current-day sci-fi. Just finished the last of the Bob Howard quartet, and if you've read any HP Lovecraft you'll be pissing yourself.
- Richard Morgan for modern, violent cyberpunk.
- Jon Courtenay Grimwood for alternative-universe detective-style novels. Set in a quasi-Arab city, too, just to be different.
- favourite debut novel, for sheer ingenuity, is another alt-universe one: The Windup Girl, by Paolo Bacigalupi (sp?)

Silver Smudger

2,943 posts

135 months

Sunday 17th February 2013
quotequote all
Wulfsyarn, by Phillip Mann
I have read a lot of sci-fi, and this is one book I keep coming back to every few years. Closest thing to it is probably Banks' culture books, but only really for the scale of the imagined worlds. Not a barnstorming adventure, but a slow-burning reveal in an unusual style. Recommended

Leithen

7,749 posts

235 months

Sunday 17th February 2013
quotequote all
Silver Smudger said:
Wulfsyarn, by Phillip Mann
I have read a lot of sci-fi, and this is one book I keep coming back to every few years. Closest thing to it is probably Banks' culture books, but only really for the scale of the imagined worlds. Not a barnstorming adventure, but a slow-burning reveal in an unusual style. Recommended
Thanks for the recommendation - downloaded and looking forward to delving in.

arfur

3,250 posts

182 months

Monday 18th February 2013
quotequote all
Currently reading the Heritage Trilogy by Ian Douglas

Good read so far ....

BevR

540 posts

111 months

Thursday 7th March 2013
quotequote all
Recently read The Quantum Thief by Hannu Rajaniemi, definately worth a read. I have to admit I actually bought this as it was recomended for fans of Alistair Reynolds and Richard Morgan (of which I am).
He doesnt often take time to fully introduce elements of the book but by the half way point they become second nature (one such example was the 'gevulot'), however it is still really good and I will be buying the next book in the series.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Quantum_Thief

Ace-T

7,230 posts

223 months

Friday 8th March 2013
quotequote all
BevR said:
Recently read The Quantum Thief by Hannu Rajaniemi, definately worth a read. I have to admit I actually bought this as it was recomended for fans of Alistair Reynolds and Richard Morgan (of which I am).
He doesnt often take time to fully introduce elements of the book but by the half way point they become second nature (one such example was the 'gevulot'), however it is still really good and I will be buying the next book in the series.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Quantum_Thief
I am about half way through The Quantum Thief. It has taken a couple of goes to get into it but I am quite enjoying it now.

The second book is out at Amazon


havoc

26,114 posts

203 months

Friday 8th March 2013
quotequote all
Funnily enough just picked up The Quantum Thief yesterday...

jbudgie

6,573 posts

180 months

Thursday 14th March 2013
quotequote all
The Forge of God by Greg Bear is a good read.


"The Forge of God was nominated for the Nebula Award for Best Novel in 1987 and was also nominated for the Hugo and Locus Awards in 1988."

g3org3y

17,237 posts

159 months

Saturday 16th March 2013
quotequote all
peterperkins said:
John Wyndham

The Day of the Triffids (1951)
The Kraken Wakes (1953)
The Midwich Cuckoos (1957)

Great Books
yes

I'd add the Chrysalids to that list too. yes

chunkymonkey71

Original Poster:

12,995 posts

166 months

Tuesday 19th March 2013
quotequote all
Read the Area 51 series by Bob Mayer.

Quite liked it.

arfur

3,250 posts

182 months

Wednesday 20th March 2013
quotequote all
arfur said:
Currently reading the Heritage Trilogy by Ian Douglas

Good read so far ....
Finished those ... all good

Now on Inheritence Trilogy - same author

jesta1865

3,447 posts

177 months

Wednesday 20th March 2013
quotequote all
can't fault the recomendations so far read most of them.

but also check out the spinward fringe books by Randolph Lalonde very good series.

also not in the same mould as earth bound and a touch fantasy as well is the beyond armageddon books by tony de cosmo.

both of those ones are kindle only i think, but some excellent ideas and i enjoyed them very much, Tony De Cosmo is writing another set of books and by all accounts they are equally as good, but I will wait till they are all available as I was frustrated waiting for each book in the beyond armageddon series (5 books)


Legend83

9,689 posts

190 months

Wednesday 20th March 2013
quotequote all
DibblyDobbler said:
Another vote for Simmons here - the Hyperion books are epic. Great stories and far future tech geek appeal thumbup
Is Hyperion a reasonable first encounter with Sci-Fi books or is it a bit hardcore for a novice like me?